Flint & Steel writing challenge: Autumn 2022

Challenging You To Write Full Circle

One winner will receive $50

Ellie Jacobson
Flint and Steel
Published in
6 min readAug 16, 2022

--

A Full Circle Writing Challenge by Flint & Steel. Graphic by Ellie Jacobson, Editor.
Graphic by Ellie Jacobson

Are you ready for a new writing challenge?!

As the lazy days of summer are coming to an end, I’m excited to announce a new writing challenge from Flint & Steel.

“When life brings you full circle, pay attention. There’s a lesson there.” ― Mandy Hale, The Single Woman: Life, Love, and a Dash of Sass

And to expand on Hale’s quote, there’s a story there.

And I want to read it.

The writing challenge prompt is Full Circle. As always, you are free as a creative to interpret that prompt as you wish. I will throw out ideas, of course, but ultimately there is no right or wrong.

Why Full Circle?

It’s been a year since I started Flint & Steel. As I was thinking about the next writing challenge, the spark of a “full circle” moment landed in my head, which got me thinking about those stories that come full circle, which lead me to think about the flash fiction stories I edit over at Flash Fiction Magazine.

--

--

Ellie Jacobson
Flint and Steel

Editor at Flash Fiction Magazine & Intrepidus Ink | Flint & Steel editor | MFA candidate working on first novel | mom to 2 kitties, 2 teenage sons & many cats