Writing prompts

Freewriting Friday: How Will You Leave Your Mark?

If you could only write one story, what would you write?

Ellie Jacobson
Flint and Steel
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2021

--

Graphic by author.

First of all, I want to say happy almost-Christmas, everyone! This will be the last Freewriting Friday post of 2021, but don’t fret, they will return next year.

When I’m out in about in the world, I take photos. A lot of photos. I’m inspired by my surroundings. Nature. Art. People. Plaques.

What did she say? Plaques?

Okay, dedication plaques.

When my family and I were in Duluth, Minnesota, this past summer, I saw them on benches as we walked around the landmarks. They sparked my creativity. I imagined the person the plaque was dedicated to and why that location. And the people they left behind. Stories started to form.

Okay, let’s start freewriting!

Instructions

Use this time to write something personal or write from the perspective of a character from a fictional story you are working on. Or write a poem.

Allow your mind to wander, not worrying about the final product.

  • Allow yourself at least 15 minutes for a freewriting session.

--

--

Ellie Jacobson
Flint and Steel

Editor at Flash Fiction Magazine & Intrepidus Ink | Flint & Steel editor | MFA candidate working on first novel | mom to 2 kitties, 2 teenage sons & many cats