Writing prompts

Sparks №22: What Are Your Distractions, I Mean, Hobbies?

A weekly newsletter from Flint & Steel

Ellie Jacobson
Flint and Steel
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

8 min readJan 17, 2022

--

“Distractions are magical. Especially the kinds you call hobbies. They take your mind off all the inescapable toxicity and make you feel like there’s so much more to life than just paying credit card installments before due dates.”
― Anindita Das, What The Pandemic Learned From Me

Last week I kept the writing prompt light with the topic of houseplants. I want to continue in that same vein this week. Let’s talk (or write) about hobbies, or distractions, as some would say.

January is National Hobby Month. It seems fitting, as I start thinking about starting a new hobby in January. I think it’s because of living in a tundra of Minnesota when the sun rarely makes an appearance. I need distractions to get me to spring when I return to being outdoors more (sorry I’m not a winter outdoorsy kinda person).

--

--

Ellie Jacobson
Flint and Steel

Editor at Flash Fiction Magazine & Intrepidus Ink | Flint & Steel editor | MFA candidate working on first novel | mom to 2 kitties, 2 teenage sons & many cats