Michele Pendleton’s Galentine’s Day event raises thousands in donations for the YWCA

Jonathan Diener
FlintDDA
Published in
4 min readFeb 17, 2020
Photo: Jonathan Diener

Michele Pendleton is a huge fan of the television series Parks and Recreation. Aside from admiring actor Amy Poehler, her real role model is the fictional character she portrays, Leslie Knope. The lovable go-getter was just one of the inspirations to do more for the women of Flint. The 4th annual Galentine’s Day (named after an episode of the series) held on Sunday, February 15th, 2020, was her biggest success to date.

“I went to the Women’s March on Washington in 2016 and when I was there I stayed with a woman named Stephanie who worked at a shelter,” says Pendleton. “She told me that one of the main things they need that aren’t donated often are feminine hygiene products. Even things like soap, hair conditioner, lotions, all kinds of things like that weren’t often donated. I just decided I should bring that back here. I’m a firm believer in practicing what you preach.”

Determined to make a positive change, Pendleton threw her first event at the Flint Local 432 four years ago. Although it was a success, it was bigger than she could have imagined.

“I definitely thought it was going to be a few friends coming, but because of social media, it turned into a way bigger idea than I would’ve intended it to be,” says Pendleton. “I definitely learned a lot about being more organized and more thorough about what I asked for. I was being very detailed with the list and everything so people knew what to bring.”

Photo: Jonathan Diener

As the event grew year by year, Pendleton was slowly learning the art of asking for help and that it wasn’t an inconvenience to her friends. The venue changed to Flint staple, Soggy Bottom Bar, and the awareness continued to grow.

“Everyone is so great here,” says Pendleton. “That’s the thing that people don’t know about Flint. They only hear about the negative things in the news. I don’t want to be only known as a water crisis. We’re so much more than that, whether it’s people helping with this event or starting their own event. I have two girlfriends in Grand Rapids who raised donations for Planned Parenthood and their own YWCA. It’s not just me doing it. I couldn’t do this on my own. It has to be everyone helping.”

Outside of the event itself, Pendleton’s friends set up donation boxes at Fenton Fire Hall and even at the Mott Library, all accepting donations of feminine hygiene products and toiletries for the YWCA of Greater Flint. In addition, her friend and coworker, Mackenzie Marie, donated her time to design the poster while FlintPrints printed and donated all of the posters.

Photo: Jonathan Diener

“I have been a part of the Flint community since I was 16 years old and just seeing everything growing downtown is amazing,” says Pendleton. “There are actually things to do now and there are places to go like the amazing local businesses. I love Eight Ten Nail Bar. I love going there and getting my nails done and they’re so supportive. Everyone was asking how the event was going and if they could help. I went to 501 (Bar and Grill) and met another person who worked for a non-profit and she brought all kinds of donations today. Soggy Bottom has also been a tremendous help with this. They let me have the event here on a Saturday afternoon which is already a busy day, but everyone who works here has been crazy supportive. The owners, the rest of the staff, everyone brought donations and asked how they could help.”

Celebrating another major win for the city, Pendleton ended up donating several large overflowing vehicles worth of goods to the YWCA. It will definitely not be the last Galentine’s Day. She’s only getting started.

Michele Pendleton with designer Mackenzie Marie. Photo: Jonathan Diener

“It’s important for anyone of any gender to get involved. Around 50% of the population menstruates,” says Pendleton. “It shouldn’t be a weird or taboo topic. It’s not gross, it’s a natural thing that happens. That’s another huge part of why I want to do this. I want to end the stigma of feeling like you can’t discuss these things. Especially with younger women being embarrassed about having a period or being scared to talk about the items they need to buy. It’s the same as buying toilet paper or toothpaste. Also, trans men get periods too. Don’t exclude them from the conversation. It can be a very hard thing for people who are transitioning to deal with. I don’t want the name Galentine’s Day to be just about girls. It’s about everyone who needs help.”

Donate to the YWCA of Greater Flint: http://www.ywcaflint.org/donate.html

--

--

Jonathan Diener
FlintDDA

Freelance writer/musician. Flint, Michigan superfan. Very hireable. Contact info, comics, music and more at jonodiener.com