Flo Experts Board Member Spotlight: Dr. Sara Twogood’s Insights on Menstrual Health and Sexual Wellness

Monika Auglyte
Flo Health UK
Published in
5 min readAug 28, 2024

Dr. Sara Twogood has sat on Flo’s expert board since 2019. She is an obstetrician and gynecologist certified by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Alongside her work with Flo, Dr. Twogood has been an obstetrician and gynecologist at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center since 2019. She is also the co-founder of Female Health Education, which she set up with her colleague and friend, Dr. Alyssa Quimby.

Among her educational qualifications, Dr. Twogood holds a medical degree from Albany Medical College and a Bachelor of Science in biological and physical sciences from the University of California, Santa Barbara. She previously completed an internship and residency in obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Southern California.

Read on to find out more about how Dr. Twogood joined Flo, alongside her life outside of work and her surprising hobby: candle making.

Why did you choose to join Flo’s expert board?

In 2019, one of the medical directors at Flo reached out to me. She had found my blog, LadyParts Blog, where I discuss things like pregnancy and fertility and share information with the public. I think she thought I would be a good fit. So we had a conversation, and I said yes! I felt like Flo’s approach to care was very aligned with mine in that they’re trying to provide accurate information, citing their sources, and using evidence-based medicine, in addition to clinical experience. I loved their approach, and I loved their tone — it’s not alarmist.

Have you tried using Flo yourself?

Yes! I track my periods using the Flo app. I’ve also used it to experience how users see and access the information on it. It’s so straightforward. The design is nice. It’s simple to use and easy to understand.

What have been some of the things you’ve most enjoyed doing while working with Flo?

I’ve really enjoyed doing the Q&A sessions where users can ask questions anonymously. A lot of them are questions that I answer for my patients in the office every day. You can see other people commenting on both the users’ questions and my responses. They’ll say things like: “I had the same issue” or “This answers my question, even though mine was slightly different.” I’m not giving individual medical advice; I’m giving raw information, but it’s great to see how many people are helped by my input.

In your experience, what is the most misunderstood thing about female health?

Starting from the basics, I think there is a lot of misunderstanding about the menstrual cycle. People don’t understand the natural hormones that go into the menstrual cycle and how a period is kind of a reflection of ovulation. So much of obstetrics and gynecology is based on the menstrual cycle. The way that hormonal contraception works is based on the physiology of the menstrual cycle; how to optimize your natural fertility is based on an understanding of the menstrual cycle. Then, going all the way to perimenopause and menopause, which are based on the menstrual cycle, too. So much of what we do is based on the menstrual cycle, and oftentimes, patients don’t have that basic understanding.

What topics are you most passionate about when it comes to female health and why?

Obstetrics is a huge part of my practice, and I truly love it. That includes early pregnancy through to labor and the postpartum period. It’s fascinating to see people go through these monumental changes and these big shifts in their lives, from being pregnant to having a newborn baby. It’s amazing to be part of that.

Another thing that I am passionate about is sexual wellness. For female health in general, sexual wellness has been overlooked and, historically, dismissed. These days, we’re getting more and more information — from research to medication — to demonstrate that sexual wellness is a complicated psychological, social, and biological issue. And it should be approached from all these different angles.

In the next five years, what would you like to see change within female health?

There’s more acknowledgement about menopause and menopausal symptoms right now. Again, historically, that’s been an area of women’s health that has been overlooked or ignored. Hopefully, we’re going to see even more menopause care and menopause experts in the coming years.

What do you enjoy outside of work?

I have a family — I’m married, and I have two kids — and I love spending time with them. We spend our weekends exploring Los Angeles. We travel at every opportunity we get. We’re going to Italy this summer.

I’m also a cofounder of Female Health Education with my colleague and friend, Dr. Alyssa Quimby, which aims to improve female sexual health through education workshops. I love doing that, and, in the same way that I love working with Flo, it helps me use all my clinical experience and present it in a different way to give people the information they need.

What’s your most surprising side interest or hobby?

Candle making! I have a company called Block Party Candles. There is actually an obstetrician and gynecologist overlap because I make candles that are in the shapes of the kids’ playing blocks. The idea is that each group of candles forms a complete structure when stacked together, like a square or a rectangle. A few of my friends have asked me to make candles for their baby showers. What I do is stack the candles together, and then everyone at the baby shower takes a candle home with them. Then, when that person is going into labor, everyone lights their candle at the same time as a way of wishing the new family luck. It’s such a nice overlap with my day job. I can’t escape pregnancy and babies!

Lastly, what’s your go-to morning ritual?

On the days that I’m working my clinical job, I just scramble out of the house. On the days that I’m not doing my clinical work, I usually lay in bed, and my kids come and wake me up as they’re getting ready for school. Then, I’ll make a cup of coffee, sit at my dining room table, and scroll through my emails, which helps me to destress because I’m getting organized and setting a plan for the day.

--

--