Flo Experts Board Member Spotlight: Dr. Renita White on Community, Education, and Female Health

Monika Auglyte
Flo Health UK
Published in
5 min read6 days ago

Since 2020, Dr. Renita White, obstetrician and gynecologist, Georgia, US, has been part of Flo’s board of 120+ medical and health experts, offering advice and peer-reviewing content across female health, wellness, and pregnancy topics.

Dr. White received her undergraduate degree from Duke University before gaining her medical degree at the Ohio State University College of Medicine. She went on to take up a residency in obstetrics and gynecology at Emory University School of Medicine. Since 2017, she has worked as a board-certified obstetrician and gynecologist at Georgia Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Read on to find out more about Dr. White’s work with Flo, how the app helped her through her own pregnancy journey, and what she gets up to in her spare time. You can follow Dr. White on Instagram here.

What brought you to Flo?

As a person who had tried to get pregnant and had some trials in the beginning, I was using Flo myself to track my cycle and help my pregnancy journey.

I really love that Flo puts out accurate information that is medically reviewed. I felt like Flo’s mission was about putting the power in the patients’ hands, and I wanted to be a part of that.

You mentioned being a Flo user. Can you tell us more about that?

I initially started using Flo when I was preparing to have my first baby. Before that, I had an IUD [intrauterine device], so I never put too much thought into my cycle, and I couldn’t remember when it was. So, I started off using Flo to track what my cycles look like. I could look back and see the timing between my cycles and when my ovulation window was, which was great.

I also liked being part of the Flo community. Even though I do this for a living, I wanted to have a community where I can learn about what other people are experiencing.

What one thing about Flo resonates the most with you?

I like that with the period tracker, you can also list your symptoms, which can, in turn, highlight correlations or even indicate other health issues. Also, if you have been using Flo for years, and you’re trying to get pregnant, then you have all this information to help you in that journey. The tracker is definitely how a lot of my patients started using Flo, and it’s how I did too.

What drew you to obstetrics and gynecology in the first place?

With being an obstetrician, you are basically spending time with somebody at one of the most exciting points of their lives. It’s usually such a positive experience to be able to witness people bringing life into the world and to see how that touches them. On the other hand, when things are scary or not positive, it’s such a tender, sensitive time; I like being someone who is helping people through that.

Gynecology connected to me because of the education it offered in female health. I really do love surgery, too. To be in the operating room and to know that what I’m doing is going to solve a problem for somebody was another big draw to gynecology for me.

Talk us through one of your highlights since working with Flo.

Recently, I’ve been working on these webinars for people who are trying to conceive, providing education through them. I’ve loved the opportunity to have more of a one-on-one, where people can ask questions.

What are you most passionate about when it comes to female health?

I think this will change as my career goes on, but I love topics related to period issues, including fibroids, PCOS [polycystic ovary syndrome], and endometriosis. I also love helping people to understand their body in a fertility space, because sometimes, it’s the first time that they’ve even thought about it. More recently, I’ve been really enjoying the menopause and perimenopause space. As a culture, especially with millennials who are going into perimenopause — and I’m a millennial too — we are being more vocal about menopause. I love being part of a generation that’s talking more about this space, and it’s something that I’m seeing my patients discussing more and more too.

How would you build a better future for female health?

It all starts with building a community where there are opportunities to vocalize what we’re going through. I love that people are talking more about their experiences with miscarriage or experiences with infertility. A good example is IVF [in vitro fertilization]. There used to be this shame around it, whereas now people are talking about it more often, for example, by seeking out egg-freezing services.

How do you care for your own physical and mental health?

In the last few years, I have picked up meditation, Pilates, and reading. I also like putting together a schedule for my days because I know that if I have everything on a schedule, then I’m going to get it done.

What do you get up to outside of work?

I love to explore life through my two kids. I have a 6-year-old and a 3-year-old. This weekend, we did some painting, and we’re going to go hiking next weekend. I try to do new things with them, like eating at new restaurants, traveling, and experiencing different cultures.

How do you wind down after a busy day?

I am a morning person, so by the end of the day, I’m zonked. I just want to go to sleep! Instead, I feel like I wind up to my day by having a nice slow start. I’ll begin by playing music or listening to a podcast while my kids are still asleep. I like to get organized for my day, and I’ll set the tone by doing a bit of meditation. By the end of the day, I pretty much pass out — I’m exhausted!

What are some of your other hobbies?

I really love hiking; it’s something I’ve picked up in the last couple years. I love to be outside, and I love nature. I go through phases of things, too. Currently, I’m also redecorating my home, so I’m going to try some DIY. Wish me luck! I also love to read. I’m going through about three books a month. I just finished a book called A Love Song for Ricki Wilde, which was really good. I love Reese Witherspoon’s book club and often pick a book from there.

--

--