Flo Experts Board Member Spotlight: Dr. Sameena Rahman on Breaking Health Taboos

Monika Auglyte
Flo Health UK
Published in
5 min readAug 13, 2024

Dr. Sameena Rahman is among Flo’s board of 120+ medical and health experts. Having grown up in North Carolina, she earned her bachelor’s degree at Duke University before getting her medical degree at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She went on to complete a residency in obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

Since 2010, Dr. Rahman has worked as an obstetrician and gynecologist at Northwestern Memorial Hospital and is a clinical assistant professor at Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine. She now lives in Chicago, where she runs her own practice, Center for Gynecology and Cosmetics, specializing in menopause care and sexual medicine.

Read on to find out more about Dr. Rahman and her work with Flo, alongside Gynogirl, her podcast, YouTube channel, and Instagram page.

What was it that drew you to being an obstetrician and gynecologist?

I have always been interested in female health care in general. I minored in women’s studies when I was at Duke, including the nuances around women and feminism and what that means as a woman of color especially. So that really drew me in: I had this desire to make a difference in women’s lives. Then, learning about the combination of surgery and medicine within this field specifically was also a draw.

How did you join Flo’s board of medical experts?

Flo approached me a few years ago. At the time, a lot of my patients were using period-tracking apps, so I did a deep dive into Flo. What I really liked about Flo was how it was also an educational platform. I’m very into educating my patients so they can understand what their natural processes are and what’s happening to their bodies. It means that they can advocate better for themselves.

What do you like about Flo’s ethos?

It’s very collegial. It’s very much about women empowering women. I really like that their mission is very clear. It’s really about international education and destigmatizing female health on a global level.

Menopause is one of your areas of expertise. Could you talk more about that?

I started my own practice about 10 years ago, which is focused on sexual medicine and menopause care. Menopause wasn’t something that I learned about during medical school. Instead, I had to teach myself by researching and accessing information through organizations like the Menopause Society, the International Society for the Study of Women’s Sexual Health, and the International Society for the Study of Vulvovaginal Disease, where I’m also a member. Menopause is something that women can be gaslighted over because if clinicians don’t know the latest data — and there isn’t enough research out there as it is — then patients aren’t going to get the care they need. Now, there is this whole movement around menopause, and a lot of people are engaging in the conversations. Things are changing.

Why are you so passionate about breaking taboos around female sexual health?

My parents immigrated from Pakistan, and I was born in America, but we lived in the southern part of the United States, which is pretty conservative. So, there was this conservatism around sexual health and female health issues from American Southern culture, and that was compounded by the values from my Pakistani background. There was this shame and taboo around female sexual health, not only at school but also at home. I realized, including through my own experiences as a girl and woman, how little these areas, from the menstrual cycle through to menopause, were being discussed. But these are natural processes. We should be able to discuss them!

What have been some of your highlights since working with Flo?

A few years ago, I did a video segment on getting pregnant and all the misconceptions around trying to get pregnant. That was a lot of fun. We did a big, two-day shoot. I’ve also enjoyed all the little projects that I’ve done and providing advice for Flo’s educational content.

In the next five years, what would you like to see change within female health?

I would really love for there to be more research on female health. If someone paid me a dollar every time I told a patient, “Well, we’re just not sure why this is,” then I’d be lying on a whole pile of money! We need more research across female health, including sexual medicine, vulvar and vaginal disease, and menopause.

What are some of the biggest challenges women face today in terms of managing their health?

Misinformation. There is so much misinformation on the internet and on social media like TikTok. People share anecdotal experiences on social media, and if a person saying things that aren’t true goes viral, then that misinformation spreads.

What is one of the most rewarding things about working with Flo?

Flo is making sure that the right information is going out there, and it’s evidence-based. I love that about Flo because that misinformation is what gets people in trouble.

How do you care for your own physical and mental health?

That’s the struggle! I think it’s always easier to tell someone else what to do. I make sure I exercise three to four times a week. I’ll either do boxing or go for a walk. That helps me a lot because I own my own practice and educate a lot online and on social media; we know social media can have a negative impact on your health. It’s all about balance.

How do you wind down after a busy day?

I put my phone away and sit with my kids. Maybe we’ll watch something on TV or have dinner and just talk about our days. I love spending time with my family.

Do you have any surprising side interests or hobbies?

People are surprised that I like to box. I go boxing a couple of times a week. I also have an Instagram page, podcast, and YouTube channel under the name Gynogirl, where I educate people on women’s health. Through that, I’ve explored different topics, from testosterone use to perimenopause. I’m writing a book, too!

What is your book about?

I’m writing something on sexual dysfunction, specifically on the South Asian experience. I haven’t figured out the title yet, but it’s about female sexual dysfunction and pain through a brown girl lens.

What’s your go-to morning ritual?

As a Muslim, I pray in the morning. Then, I’ll have a hot shower and a coffee before dropping my kids off to school and heading to the office.

--

--