Finding Direction

Flockjay
Flockjay
Published in
2 min readOct 18, 2019

Before getting into Flockjay, I was lost, wandering carelessly in this world with no direction of where I wanted to go. I applied to any and every job that I saw from housekeeping to the front desk manager. You name it, I did it! Even with a Bachelors’ Degree—said to get you into anywhere— and an awesome network, it felt as if no doors were opening.

It wasn’t until mid-July that the tables turned for the better. After about a month and a half of having graduated from Binghamton University and going on what felt like a never-ending job search, I found my light at the end of the tunnel: Flockjay. One of my mentors told me about Flockjay approximately two weeks before the deadline to apply. He knew I wasn’t a fan of coding but he saw potential in me in getting into the tech industry through a different avenue.

Luckily, the process went smooth and right after the interview with Quenton, I knew this was an atmosphere I wanted to be around. Thankfully, I was chosen in the top 5% of applicants that had applied. It finally felt like the stars had aligned for me.

With all the news surrounding Flockjay now, it feels as if everything happened for a reason. If you haven’t already heard in the news, Serena Williams is backing this extraordinary program and the company has fundraised $3million dollars for their seed round. This program is gaining the spotlight it deserves; the team and Shaan are gaining the recognition they rightfully deserve.

I believe Flockjay is one of a kind. It is amazing coming into class every night and having the team work with you and anything you may need help in. Everything is hands-on and if you need 1:1 time, that too is provided. There is nowhere but up from here.

Flockjay is a program that is for everyone no matter your age, background, religion or gender. It is an inclusive community and a great introduction to the tech industry. Flockjay has given me the confidence I need to walk into any room and let my presence be felt and my voice is heard.

__________

Geraldin Noemis Diaz is a Flockjay Tech Fellow in the August to October 2019 Program. She invites you to reach out to her, follow her, and discuss. Send her a note or a tweet at:
https://www.linkedin.com/in/geraldindiaz/
https://twitter.com/_geraldin_

--

--

Flockjay
Flockjay

We retrain jobseekers to get future-proof tech sales jobs.