Writing My New Story

Flockjay
Flockjay
Published in
3 min readMar 25, 2020

A story written by Flockjay graduate and current Student Success Advisor, Dunetka Cussi

I studied hospitality and worked for more than 13 years in the industry. I enjoyed my work but after so many years, it had stopped being challenging and fulfilling. I wanted to make a change but I didn’t know what I wanted or how to get there.

Trying to find my next career, I decided to research tech bootcamps. I first heard of Flockjay around Christmas of 2018 but I wasn’t sure if it would be enough for me to break into the world of tech.

A few weeks later, while walking through San Francisco, I realized that everything in the city I lived in was changing at the speed of light, all because of tech companies. I remember owning my first smartphone, and how that changed my life. Now I was using apps like Uber, Lyft, Airbnb, and WhatsApp, which I constantly use to talk with my family in Peru without having to pay huge phone bills.

Tech companies were changing the world around me and I wanted to be a part of it. I wanted to be a part of the generation that was able to connect people around the world. As Elon Musk once said, “Now is the best time to be alive.” I wanted to be part of the reason why.

As a female immigrant without a background in tech, breaking into the tech industry would be challenging. But even though I had doubts, I was reminded of something I once read. “Don’t be afraid to start all over again. You may like your new story better.” I was ready to write my new story.

I scheduled an info session with Flockjay and Quenton was on the other side of the call. After talking to him, I knew Flockjay was the right next step in my journey to a new career. I filled out my application and waited to hear if I made it in.

When I found out I was accepted, I was so excited! Getting accepted was just the first step on the long road ahead of me. I committed myself to 200 plus hours of class in 12 weeks, all while keeping my full-time job. My schedule was crazy sometimes. I didn’t get much sleep because I had to be up for work by 3:50 am, but I really wanted to make it happen.

I didn’t know what to expect when I started class. Suddenly I was spending 4 nights a week at my laptop, meeting with my coaches who inspired me to keep going. Flockjay staff like Shaan, Kelly, Alex, and Quenton supported me at all times and kept me on track. Fireside chats every Monday from special guests motivated me and made me excited about my future.

My classmates became my friends as we learned new skills together. We practiced together, gave feedback, and lifted each other up when we faced challenges. Even when class ended, we kept practicing together to be the best that we could be.

Now I’m a Student Success Advisor at Flockjay, supporting our students as they go through training. I’m enjoying every moment of it. I make a difference, not only in my own life but in the lives of others. Being part of Flockjay has given me a brand new sense of purpose and made me profoundly happy. I received so much support and encouragement as a student and now I get to give that same experience to new students.

I really do like my new story better.

At Flockjay, we are proud of how far our students have come, and we know this is just the beginning. If you want to launch your own career in tech, submit an application. (app.flockjay.com)

--

--

Flockjay
Flockjay

We retrain jobseekers to get future-proof tech sales jobs.