The Honeymoon Phase

Nadia Maxwell
Flourish Nutrition

--

Week 1, Days 1–4

KATHMANDU, BHAKTAPUR & LALITPUR DISTRICTS

According to Wikipedia, culture shock has four phases. The first phase is the honeymoon phase- so please humour me while I share with you my new found love with this intriguing country and its beautiful people.

I had originally planned to do a written blog, with the occasional picture. However, the past four days have seen me wandering through the bustling streets of Kathmandu in awe of all the vibrant culture and colours. I honestly can’t help but snap away furiously on my handy-dandy iPhone (yes, I am ashamed to say that I am that tourist we all love to hate). So at least until I get my head around this new way of life, enough to be able to put it into words (or I get fed-up with waiting for the photos to upload on our not-so-speedy wifi (which, believe me, I am still very privileged to have), then please enjoy some photos of my time in Kathmandu thus far…

Day 1

The view from my new home, Base Camp in Nayabazar, Kathmandu District. The city is so built-up, with every house being at least 3 stories high. This city is never quiet. Every night I go to sleep to barking, yelling, spitting and banging. Every morning I wake up to bells, singing, honking, showering and more barking, yelling, spitting and banging. Ear plugs have become my new best friend.
Puran, our lovely host. Puran has worked for Volunteer Base Camp for 6 years and has been our guide and teacher for the past 4 days. Here is is taking us through the stages of culture shock.
Inside the courtyard of a Hindu temple at the beginning of our walk up to Nagarkot in Bhaktapur District, approximately 1 hour out of Kathmandu. Here you see the bell which is rung VERY early each morning to call locals to prayer. Around 81% of the population are Hindu and another 8% are Buddhist. In Nepal, Hindus and Buddhist live together in harmony and even share some Gods. Many temples welcome both Hindus and Buddhists to worship. Religion is a huge part of the Nepali way of life. The amount of time spent on spiritual practices everyday is one of the most stark differences between Nepali and AUS/NZ culture I have witness thus far.
Young Nepali school girls on their way home from school in Nagarkot. School and work goes for 6 days with only 1 weekend day, Saturday. This is to make up for the immense number of government holidays throughout the year.
Kids.
The view northward from the top of our hike in Nagarkot. Our guide, Puran’s cousin Mangal, pointed out rice paddies, corn crops, pomelo, pear and guava trees, mushroom and turmeric plants..etc

Day 2

Celebrating the amazing painting the volunteer students from America did for this community centre in Patan, Lalitpur District.
Coming back in time for a beautiful dinner of basmati rice, spicy paneer, tumeric and Dahl soup, saag (spinach), acar (vegetable pickle) and papad (pappadum)

Day 3

Beautiful bayjai (grandmother) in front of a statue of Buddha in the heart of Kathmandu.
Colourful market in Old Town, Kathmandu. I couldn’t bring myself to photograph the butchered meat sitting in the hot sun… I haven’t got my head around the hygiene practices here. No wonder gastro is a very common occurrence. Bring on vegetarian life.
We call this one a turmeric tan.

Day 4

Once a year, during the Kukur Tihar festival, dogs are acknowledged for the cherished relationship between dogs and humans, receiving the sacred Tika on their forehead.
Just a casual 5.30am start on a Monday morning at the Monkey Temple, otherwise known as Swayambunath. The temple is teeming with Newar (the Indigenous Nepali ethnic group) Buddhists offering prayers to Buddha.
Oh, and monkeys.
We made a quick visit to Buddha Park (Swayambhu) before rushing home with both myself and another volunteer came to terms with the fact we had got food poisoning from last night’s dinner. Hello T7…

Until next time… namaste.

--

--

Nadia Maxwell
Flourish Nutrition

Dietitian |Women’s health | Advocating the importance of optimal maternal and infant nutrition | Personal trainer | Kiwi in Aus