How to create a UX design portfolio with no work experience (2024)

A mentor’s guide to creating a portfolio that gets your first UI/UX designer job

Elina Zhang
Flowhack

--

Why is UX portfolio important in getting a job? What should I showcase in my portfolio? The best ways to learn UI/UX design and build my first case study? How to build a UX portfolio with no work experience? How can I improve my portfolio and make it stand out? The best online portfolio website builder? What UI/UX tools should I learn? How to apply for jobs and get interviews?

(This article is also published on Flowhack resources.)

As the founder of Flowhack and a senior UX designer who’s mentored 100+ students and helped many land a job, I’ve been asked portfolio related questions a lot, therefore I want to share with you my complete guide to creating a UX portfolio from scratch to fast track transition into a UX designer.

Why is a portfolio so important in getting a job as a UX designer?

A good UX portfolio is about showing the process, not only the end result.

A portfolio is a mandatory requirement in almost every job application because UX design is extremely hands-on, and…

--

--

Elina Zhang
Flowhack

Founder of flowhack.co and Co-Loving Hub | Senior UI/UX design mentor | Transformation coach