Build a note-taking app with Flutter + Firebase — Part I

The practice of creating a simplified ‘clone’ of Google Keep from scratch

Yingxin Wu
Flutter Community

--

Flutter Keep

I’m a fan of Google Keep, I’ve been using it since it was launched. I put pending tasks, reminders for chores, almost anything needs to remember, into Keep. It’s intuitive to use, helps me stay focused on the priorities.

Since I’ve been building Flutter apps during the past two years, I think it might be interesting to make a notebook app like Keep from scratch.

The so-called ‘Flutter Keep app I made so far looks like:

I’m going to introduce the process in a series of articles. Key components will be added to the app during iterations, to make it easier to understand.

In this first part of the series, we’re going to set up the Flutter project, provide an authentication process, and a simple screen to show the note list.

Let’s get started.

--

--

Yingxin Wu
Flutter Community

Software developer, architect, swimmer, scuba diver