Flutter and Zeplin: Speed up the Development Process from your Design

Roberto Juárez
Flutter Community
Published in
4 min readJul 9, 2019

--

Almost over a year ago, Zeplin provided a new door for developers to build their extensions to generate and display code snippets from different design resources. Since this great initiative, several extensions have been added to Zeplin, extensions for HTML, CSS, React Native, Xamarin Forms and many more.

I am a Flutter Developer and I lost a lot of time coding basic widgets from the design or getting the information about different properties like colors, shadows, borders, gradients and so on. So I decided to build my extension to generate the DART code with only select one layer from design.

After reading all the documentation provided by Zeplin and invest time to develop the extension, I finished and published it to the Zeplin repository… After two days, I am so excited to announce to you my extension called Flutter Extended is now published, so you can add it to your Zeplin projects and get started to use it. https://extensions.zeplin.io/roberto_juarez/zeplin-flutter-extended

How to install the extension?

The first step is to go to your Zeplin project and then click on Extensions -> Explore Extensions

--

--

Roberto Juárez
Flutter Community

Engineer, Writer, Musician and passionate about technology.