Flutter Widgets (Grid View) The Whole Picture

Murtaza Sulaihi
Flutter Community
9 min readNov 9, 2020

--

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Flutter Community for adding me as a writer to their publication, I posted my last article on TabBar & TabBarView under Flutter Community publication and I received a lot more exposure to this article than previous ones that I had posted earlier. Now I feel the next step is that we Indian writers should be able to join the Medium Partner program soon, I read a lot about it in past few days that Medium uses Stripe as their payment method and Stripe is now available in India but still, for some reason, the Partner Program has not opened for Indian writers, hope that happens soon.

What is Grid View?

It is a 2-Dimensional array which places its children into rows and column displaying the items in a tabular form. As the name suggests it is a Grid which is very similar to what we see in Android programming or any other programming language. The best place to see an example of Grid View is on Google Play Store or Apple App Store where we can see a list of applications in a vertical and horizontal scroll view. Similarly, if you see any marketplace application such as Amazon or Flipkart you will get to see Grid View format.

--

--

Murtaza Sulaihi
Flutter Community

By profession, I am a school professor and I also develop Android applications and also Flutter applications.