Lint Rules in Flutter

Greg Perry
Flutter Community
Published in
7 min readNov 27, 2020

--

To ‘Flutter’ better, follow the rules.

II Simply by chance, I came upon Tomek Polański’s gist entry called, Strict Flutter lint rules. Many of you will be familiar with Tomek Polański as he has long been a contributing writer to the Flutter community on Medium.com. One of his more famous articles being the ‘cheat sheet’ for Flutter Layouts:

Flutter Layout Cheat Sheet

Well, I’m glad I came upon this gist entry. It made me a better programmer. It allows me to better conform my code to the Effective Dart: Style guidelines and then some. It allows for more efficient, and more optimized code. In this article, I’ll show you how to use Polański’s list of Lint rules as well. You should.

I Like Screenshots. Click For Gists.

As always, I prefer using screenshots in my articles over gists to show concepts rather than just show code. I find them easier to work with frankly. However, you can click or tap on these screenshots to see the code in a gist or in Github. Further, it’s better to read this article about mobile development on your computer than on your phone. Besides, we program on our computers — not on our phones. Not yet anyway.

No Moving Pictures, No Social Media

There will be gif files in this article demonstrating aspects of the topic at hand. However, it’s…

--

--