Functional bits in Flutter

Mattia Maldini
Flutter Community
Published in
10 min readNov 14, 2018

--

Recently I’ve had the need to develop simple mobile applications, demo or finished products, with the main objective being monitoring and controlling Bluetooth or WiFi devices.
Since this was a relatively new thing to me I resolved to pair it with the learning of a new framework I had heard about recently: Flutter. I’ve not used it for very long, but I can already say I’m very satisfied.

  • It’s fast and simple: developing small apps takes a matter of minutes, as opposed to the long coding sessions I remember from Android Studio. You think of a feature, you add it, on to the next
  • High level: you don’t have to manage 100 callbacks at a time just to ask the permission to save files. Whenever you actually need to be under the hood you can always write native code (which is no more a hassle than going full native)
  • Multi-platform: I’ve yet to compile my code for Apple, but it shouldn’t be too hard. Free compatibility, yay!
  • Layout and code are the same thing, as in you can define the layout in Dart: I love having my GUI and the code behind it in the same place. I don’t need business logic separation when I have a label and 3 buttons, and when building bigger applications I can structure my code just fine with one programming language, thank you.
  • You can use Visual Studio Code

--

--

Mattia Maldini
Flutter Community

Computer Science Master from Alma Mater Studiorum, Bologna; interested in a wide range of topics, from functional programming to embedded systems.