How I convinced my Team Lead to go for Flutter and Kotlin.

and why the decision was good.

Dhruvam Sharma
Flutter Community

--

Hi everyone. I am Dhruvam, and I am going to want you to indulge in a beautiful tale of misery and winnings.

Okay, I am going to start a story with 2 storylines running in parallel. One for Kotlin against Java and one Flutter against React Native. Try to keep up! It’s going to be a hell of a Game of Thrones here!

A few months back:

Has it ever bothered you that there is a long list of Youtube tutorials or Medium Articles left that you think you need to learn right away? Learning has never been easy, and something so vast like Android is far more than easy. I have always tried to learn as much as I could gulp in one go because there is just too much. One has to decide what is important and what is not and it will stop bothering you.

I work in a start-up and I am a one-man army in the Mobile team. I built an Android app that hosts a gaming site with a webview and built a native update framework from scratch because our app is not on Play Store. I added Firebase tooling to get realtime crashes, analytics, control features, see how the roll-out is working. All this had to be done fast and iteratively because we were short on resources. And all that was built with Java.

--

--

Dhruvam Sharma
Flutter Community

Google-certified Android Developer @Unikon. Android Geek. In love with Flutter. Blockchain Explorer. Dancer. 🕺 Reader. Coffee Addict. 😍