SMS from Flutter

Arathi Shankri
Flutter Community
Published in
3 min readDec 15, 2019

--

Send SMS from your Flutter App. Courtsey Image: Flutter Dynamic Links

USE CASE: Send SMS from your Flutter App

I have currently switched gears, taking a small break from my gaming app and now working on a scheduling app. Here, I need to SMS app invite to the user’s contacts from my app. There are two ways that I have visualized implementing this on the UI;

implementation 1:

  • The user clicks on the “share” icon.
  • Enters or selects phone numbers that the SMS needs to be sent to.
  • Clicks on a button to send the SMS.

implementation 2:

  • The user clicks on the “share” icon.
  • Let the user choose the means to share the message i.e. via Messaging App, WhatsApp, Email, etc.
  • Let the user pick the numbers from their contact list.
  • Send SMS. The last 2 steps would be automatically taken care of by the app that the user will choose to send the SMS.

OPTIONS:

After thorough research, here are the options to implement sending an SMS through a Flutter app. Since the message I am sending is an app invite, which should let the user open the app if installed or open PlayStore/AppStore if not installed, I have to implement the app invite feature as Firebase Dynamic Link. And Firebase Dynamic Links…

--

--