State Management in Flutter?

Greg Perry
Flutter Community
Published in
16 min readDec 21, 2020

--

More like State access, no? Conceptual discussion.

As you know, there’s a great number of architectural frameworks offered to Flutter developers to supply some form of State Management to their apps. I even threw in an offering that emulates a time-tested design pattern. However, I won’t promote it here. That would be uncouth.

Back in March of 2018, all I wanted was to get rid of two warning messages that I was always encountering when first learning Flutter. These messages were telling me I was doing something wrong and not optimizing my code to take full advantage of Flutter's unique characteristics. You know the messages I’m talking about, don’t you?

‘@immutable’ and ‘setState’

Those two messages were presented to me the first day I started playing around with Flutter. Of course, I didn’t understand why at the time, but StatelessWidgets and StatefulWidgets are to contain unchanging (immutable) instance fields/properties, and you’re not to call a State object’s setState() function directly but through a subclass instead.

Note, you now have an array of frameworks and architectures available to you to…

--

--