President Obama entering the white house; Bild von David Mark auf Pixabay

President Obama Says Women Should Rule the World — and I Agree

Considerations Towards a More Matriarchal Society

Joe Duncan
Flux Magazine
Published in
7 min readDec 18, 2019

--

I have a public confession to make. Over the course of my nine-years of working in politics, I eventually learned to stop talking to men at work. In politics, we had to get results and results meant talking to voters in whichever city we happened to find ourselves in, but more importantly, voters who were willing to engage in a dialogue and free, open discussion.

These voters, simply put, were almost never men. Former-president Obama has been in the news lately discussing the role of women in politics and I’m reminded of the years I put in and what I’d learned during the course of my tenure. More on this important tidbit, later…

What if women ruled the world? What if we could hand over the keys to the levers of power, at least for a little while, and give women 100% charge and responsibility of our most prized and precious institutions? Well, for the most part, I have to say that I agree with Barack Obama’s recent comments that if we did just that, we’d see things get a lot better.

While Obama’s comments may sound extreme, I completely and emphatically agree with him and much of this stems from that time I spent in political work. This is a place where you notice some of the…

--

--

Joe Duncan
Flux Magazine

I’ve worked in politics for fourteen years and counting. Editor for Sexography: Medium.com/Sexography | The Science of Sex: http://thescienceofsex.substack.com