My First User Research Adventure

Denise Ortiz Rios
Fluxyeah
Published in
2 min readOct 1, 2017

This is the first time I am writing since beginning the UX/UI Design course at IronHack (Miami, FL). My prior use of Medium was reserved for detailing my pre-work assignments; but I am going to continue logging my experiences during this (intense) process!

user and data… putting the pieces together.

Our first individual assignment was to develop a wellness tool for the National Wellness Institute. Tools (apps or website) that we develop can serve to manage one aspect of wellness, which can include Diet, Exercise, Stress, Meditation, etc.

The wellness tool must have features that:

  • allows the user to set goals for themselves
  • enter activities relevant to their goals
  • be able to track their progress over time
  • share the findings with a wellness coach

The category of sexual wellness really resonated with me. I had the privilege of growing up in a household that was very direct whenever I had questions. Sex was always portrayed as normal, and we were always encouraged to be safe while practicing it.

rawr!

In an effort to eliminate stigma around the discussion of sex, I want to make this subject the core of my wellness tool. For such a broad topic, I narrowed the focus to: promotion of healthy communication between sexual partners.

I am still trying to figure out how i will execute an app that helps you measure your sexual or communication goals… but that part comes later.

Surveys and User Research, first!

I developed a series of preliminary survey questions that will help me determine if my original goal is worth pursuing. If my potential app users find other aspects of sexuality more important, I will need to shift my focus to their actual needs (rather that my perception of what their needs are).

…oops.

Please kindly participate in my first User Research Survey :-)

Sexual Wellness Survey

--

--

Denise Ortiz Rios
Fluxyeah

UX/UI Designer, Miami native. Lover of sandals, chap stick, and sleeping at any given opportunity. deniseortiz.co