Meet the Transpose Team: Larry Cheng, passenger experience Lead

Transpose
Fly Transpose
Published in
2 min readSep 19, 2017
Meet Larry Cheng, Passenger Experience Lead at Transpose

What do you do at Transpose?

I’m designing the Transpose opportunity from the perspective of new and better flight experiences for passengers, from passenger experiences in the cabin, to booking experiences and other travel touchpoints. That means I handle everything from passenger tests to how the modules might incorporate design to better serve passengers and airlines.

What’s your background?

I am a product designer with roots in the design & innovation culture of Silicon Valley. I spent 13 years at IDEO as a product designer & innovator in everything from workplace furniture, to kitchen gadgets, to designing organizations. I then spent four years at Intuit as a design strategist on software for small business accounting and consumer tax prep. Before that, I studied mechanical engineering at Stanford and Caltech.

One of the projects I worked on was designing the robot shark used in Deep Blue Sea (1999) — you can see me in the corner.

What are some fun facts about you?

I have more than twenty utility and design patents in consumer goods and workplace technology. I enjoy rediscovering the world through the eyes and screens of my teenagers. I’m also an avid practitioner of vinyasa yoga, but I still cannot touch my toes.

You can find Larry on Twitter and Medium.

--

--

Transpose
Fly Transpose

An @AirbusSV project focused on the modular rethinking of cabin design and architecture for large commercial aircraft.