What is Flyer Faithful?

Matt Allaire
Flyer Faithful
Published in
4 min readSep 26, 2016

Welcome to FlyerFaithful.com! We are glad you are here.

You may be asking yourself, “What is FlyerFaithful.com, and why am I here?” I’m going to do my best to explain the mission of this site, who we are, and what we envision for the future in this article.

Flyer Faithful was founded with the primary objective of providing the best coverage and analysis of University of Dayton athletics online. What does that mean exactly? It means providing a site where anybody, young and old, can come to read about their Flyers. Parents can send their kids to this site without worrying about explicit content, but the parents can also enjoy and interact with the content as well.

When I decided to start this project over six months ago, I made it my mission to do this the right way. To make sure I jumped through the proverbial hoops to make sure this site was created in accordance with all the rules and regulations of the university and the NCAA.

This site will bring you only the highest quality content about your Dayton Flyers, with game recaps, podcasts, videos, and other stellar content.

Who are we?

Me, circa 2014

Matt Allaire

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Matt Allaire. I am 19 years old, and I grew up in Miamisburg, Ohio, just a short drive down I-75 from UD. I have been a Flyer Faithful since birth, and attend as many games as possible each season. I am also currently writing at RedReporter.com, and formerly at BlackburnReview.com and BaseballFam.com. I am thankful for the opportunities given to me by Brandon Kraeling at Red Reporter, Shane Sullivan at Baseball Fam, and the infamous “Tom Blackburn” at Blackburn Review for giving me opportunities to grow and expand my writing skills. I am currently attending Mount St. Joseph University in Cincinnati, and running cross country for them. You can follow me on Twitter @AllaireMe or as my sports alias, @RT_Ohio.

Colin

Colin Debord

Colin Debord lives in Centerville, Ohio, and currently attends Centerville High School. He is an 18 year old senior who plans on playing football at Bowling Green State University next year. His main passion has always been playing football, but also played basketball until his junior year. As for his connection to UD basketball, he has had front row season tickets in section 116 all his life. His father and grandpa waited outside UD arena after its reopening in the 70’s and handed down the tickets to him and his sister, Easten who is also a part of our staff. Besides being a huge Flyer fan, he is a Bengals fan, Buckeyes football fan, and OKC Thunder fan.

Easten. Yeah, we know she’s basically a model. Deal with it.

Easten Debord

Easten Debord is from Centerville, Ohio, and currently attends THE Ohio State University, studying sports industry. Like her brother Colin, she has been a die-hard UD fan her entire life, and sits front row for every home game. She lives and dies with Dayton basketball, and will be on board with us as a staff writer this season.

Grant

Grant Kelly

Grant Kelly is from Springboro, Ohio. He’s been a Flyer fanatic since birth and is seeking a career covering sports. He also writes for A10Talk.com and BuckeyesNews.com. You can follow Grant on Twitter @GrantKelly07. You can find him listening to country music and watching 15 straight hours of college football/basketball on the weekends. Grant will be on board as a staff writer for the site.

Initially, this site will mainly focus on Dayton Men’s basketball, although there is a high likelihood that some Women’s basketball may be thrown in there. This is just the beginning. We have many, many plans to expand this site to more than just Dayton Basketball, with the potential of Football, Volleyball, and other sports coverage coming in the future.

Are you interested in writing or advertising with us?

Send us a resume with your writing experience or your ad campaign to matt@flyerfaithful.com and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

Connect with us!

Follow us on Twitter!

Like us on Facebook!

Subscribe to our mailing list!

Thank You To Everyone Who Has Made This Possible!

Be LOWD, and Go Flyers.

--

--