An interview with National Geographic Traveler of The Year and veteran Digital Nomad

Author: Makenna Taylor-Gonzalez

FlyingYak
Flying Yak

--

Shannon O’Donnell talks global citizenship and the pros and cons of the nomadic lifestyle

Shannon O’Donnell began her journey as a ‘digital nomad’ directly after graduating college. She moved away from her hometown, and quickly realized her ability to work online presented her with a unique opportunity: the ability to work remotely. Which meant, she could work anywhere in the world.

Shannon O’Donnell is not your ‘typical’ digital nomad (whatever that may be). Rather, she is an insightful, caring, experienced traveler, who focuses more on the process of ‘slow travel’ as well as giving back to the communities she becomes a part of, seen in the creation of her site Grassroots Volunteering, which allows travelers to connect with local causes and their respective communities.

We sat down with Shannon and asked about her journey to the nomadic lifestyle. After listening to her story, there’s no wonder she was awarded the National Geographic ‘Traveler of The Year’ and continues to inspire young nomads and travelers, alike.

Tell us a bit about your background.

I have worked on the Internet for web-based businesses since my senior year of college. Once I graduated, I realized I could take my job anywhere and use that independence to pursue my acting dreams. I upended my life in Florida and drove to Los Angeles. Over the next two years, I worked on gaining more online clients and growing my online marketing skills.

Great Wall of China

Then, Shannon had a lightbulb moment, if you will, and discovered the key for anyone looking to travel and work remotely.

What inspired you to choose the nomad lifestyle?

Market in Kampala, Uganda

I opened my eyes wider and saw the entire world as a possibility. I was disenchanted with the entertainment industry and decided to take a one-year trip around the world while I continued the same online client work (that paid for my LA apartment). Instead, the same job would pay for guesthouses and street-eats all over the world.

I left in 2008 with a deep desire to leave everything behind; I wanted to understand the world and the people in it.

As it turns out, the world is a big place and I have continued to build my business. After the initial year of traveling around the world, I decided to continue balancing slow travel and work. I have found, as long as there is internet I can spend my mornings working with clients and my afternoons taking cooking classes, learning new languages, and uncovering the stories of new places and people.

Matibabu health center, rural Kenya

How are you different than the typical ‘digital nomad’?

Tough question! No clue. The community has become incredibly diverse and I’ve met digital nomads who hail from every country on earth, with a huge range of skills. I’ve never worked a traditional job; I went straight into online work and never looked back. I’ve met many digital nomads who come from the corporate world and use online work and travel as a career break.

But for me, this was always my career choice, I always knew I wanted to work remotely… It just took me a couple years to realize that “remotely” could mean anywhere in the world I was interested in exploring.

Learning to weave and dye silk in Laos

While Shannon may seem like just another digital nomad from a work perspective — for example almost every digital nomad works online, remotely and is location-independent. She has a unique take on slow travel and has always been committed in giving back to every community she becomes a part of. Call it what you will, the ultimate slow travel or becoming a global citizen, but Shannon’s journey and drive to make the world a better place, as well as making it easier and more accessible for other digital nomads and travelers to learn about opportunities to give back is truly inspiring.

How do you give back to the communities you become a part of?

Teaching English at a Monastery in Pharping, Nepal

Volunteering and responsible traveling is a big part of my (online) footprint in the ‘travel world’. I run a travel blog, A Little Adrift, where I share my stories about my travels from over the years. It was along this journey I decided to launch Grassroots Volunteering, a site specifically for and dedicated to long-term travelers and digital nomads, like myself, who are looking to give back. I found there were few open, transparent resources that presented travelers with ways to positively affect the communities they visit. GV is my way of helping everyone who comes into this lifestyle easily find ethical and appropriate ways to support their local communities.

Habitat project in Portland, Matibabu health project in Kenya

Do you think your life on the road has changed your view of the world?

Baby crocodile in Siem Reap, Cambodia

As humans, we are wired to form connections with other people, and my time traveling has allowed me to make connections all over the world with people from every walk of life.

Travel widened my view of the world, squeezing out long-held assumptions and shifting my perspective in meaningful ways.

Because of travel, I am a more compassionate person; It drastically changes how you see your role in the context of a greater human community.

Cape Agulhas and Taj Mahal, India

The ‘digital nomad space’ seems to be largely occupied by men — do you have advice for women who want to become location independent?

Petra, Jordan

Build a skill set that is valuable online! I chose to study marketing in school, and of my own accord, specialized in SEO and online marketing strategy. This was back in 2006, before I even planned to travel. I built up my knowledge and client base and it’s from there I was able to take my work on the road.

I recommend a similar path — find a job you don’t hate and become specialized. Become great. Become rare and valuable, as Cal Newport would say.

Use your online job to create the lifestyle you want and value. Then take it on the road and make money while exploring new places. Most people think the majority of ‘portable’ jobs are occupied by men, but for anyone dreaming of traveling and working, they should look into a field they find interesting —for example, programming, content writing, marketing, or social media. Start building your online profile and skills now. There are few limiting factors besides a livable income, so dedicate yourself to generating a feasible and steady income and at some point you will have the ability to act on your interest to travel long-term!

Ngorongoro Crater, Tanzania

What are your thoughts on the ‘digital nomad’ movement?

The digital nomad community has exploded in the past decade! I love watching this community embrace the lifestyle and provide examples for others of how to successfully work and travel. When I began my travels in 2008, there were few resources online, and even fewer bloggers talking about working while traveling. So, I took a leap of faith that I would be able to find an internet connection and work on the road. Now, the community is strong and — if I (or anyone starting out) have questions or concerns, there are dozens of people willing to share their own experiences working from almost any region in the world.

Ngorongoro Crater, Tanzania and Maji Moto, Kenya

What do you look for when choosing your next destination?

Jordan with friend Jodi Ettenberg at the Dead Sea

Friends! I have been on the road for many years now, and I often choose a place where I know I’ll run into friends along the way. There are about 10–15 locations on my “soon” list (which only exists in my head), and I then look at potential meet-ups as a deciding factor.

Roasting Cacao at Urari, Learning about coffee at Akha Ama social enterprise

Where are you now and where are you headed next?

I just finished a three week road trip of the Yucatán Peninsula in Mexico. I took my two nephews, aged 10 and 11, on the trip, and we drove all through the region exploring the ruins, cenotes, and beaches. I’m in Florida for another week before I head to England for a wedding, then to Morocco to meet up with a friend.

Isle of Skye, Scotland

If you enjoyed this story, make sure to hit the ❤ and recommend!

Looking for more inspirational stories like this one or to start your own digital nomad journey, visit us online and sign up!

www.flyingyak.com

--

--