Letting Go of First-World Fears and Embracing the Unknown

Going against societal norms and living in the thrill of the moment every day

FlyingYak
Flying Yak
Published in
8 min readMay 20, 2015

--

Meet Victoria Duggan: backpacker, blogger, web designer and human rights advocate blazing an untraditional path around the world in search of enlightening experiences. She is a passionate, young, twenty-something human rights graduate from Canada who chose to follow her passion for seeking alternative ways of living, and non-traditional employment opportunities, and focusing on experiences that enlighten. Victoria shares her travel adventures on her blog — “Uprooting Our Lives” — with her partner, and practices the philosophy of not letting the fear of the unknown cripple her continual quest for self-improvement.

.

There aren’t many younger digital nomads that choose to pursue the slow travel lifestyle right out of college… Which is pretty impressive! How did you decide to take the leap?

I began travelling right after university. I majored in Human Rights in Ottawa, Canada and had always been interested in alternative ways of living, but was unsure where to start. I absolutely loved my degree and area of study, but I wasn’t keen on starting a conventional 9–5 office job.

What was the life changing trip that inspired you to change your life for the better?

My partner Colin and I were travelling Europe together. We had been on the road for four months and had a ticket booked home in the upcoming week. As the date got closer and closer we both felt uneasy. It felt as though we had unfinished business. We decided on a whim to miss our flight and we have been travelling ever since. It takes practice and balance to change from just backpacking to really becoming a ‘digital nomad’, but we learned how to make it work with less, find jobs online, and live out each day feeling happy.

How did you sustain your travels?

When you are working on the road sometimes any work is good work! Some of the most challenging have also been some of the most memorable. My partner Colin and I have worked on many organic farms. We love the lifestyle, but it is definitely a hard day’s work. I’m not complaining — far from it. I welcome mornings where we get up with the sun, pick fruit during the day, bond with new friends at night and finish a successful workday together.

…So you don’t really have a main expertise in the tech-related field but volunteer in exchange for experiences instead. Sounds like hard work!

This type of ‘hard labour’ beats the commute any day! I just love having the opportunity to stay in countries long enough to really get to know them. As a tourist, I had favourite places to visit, but as a nomad now I have really changed up my ‘favourites’ to include many wonderful places that almost feel like home.

Making friends while travelling is key. Rishikesh, October, 2014.

While most people would love to travel the world, it is not always a viable option. How does your blog inspire others to leave their financial obligations behind and enjoy what the world has to offer?

I love to share with people about our lifestyle. I noticed more and more I was receiving questions from people wanting to know how we do it and how they can become a digital nomad themselves. We film vlogs about our daily life abroad, give suggestions on how to travel on a tight budget, and try to inspire people to do what makes them happy and ultimately find their passion! I think the digital nomad movement is growing and for good reason. In the beginning of our lifestyle change, we also met so many inspiring people who were making it work and living this way. They really inspired us.

As a young person in their twenties, do you feel this is a phase in life for you or do you think you were born to travel?

I think there is a travel gene and you either have it or you don’t. I’ve never been much of a homebody; I loved travelling while growing up and volunteered abroad as much as I could throughout my education. I studied many theories in university that discuss and challenge the Western world’s obsession with consumerism. I knew that I could live with less excess and still be happy. I find it exciting to explore new places knowing that everything I need is in my backpack.

Exploring the Angkor Watt archeological park is beyond anything I could have ever dreamed. Nature and structure come together to show history.

What challenges have you faced getting started?

The biggest challenge for me was finding a job online to live as a digital nomad that wasn’t in the tech field. I am very technologically savvy but did not study any type of programming, coding, or design at school. At first, it was disheartening when searching through remote job boards to only see jobs catering to techies and we feared we would have to go ‘home’.

You also have to overcome the fact that where you are living could be completely different than the life you previously lived. Moving to a new country exposes you to different cultures and customs that may be unfamiliar to you and may take some time to get used to. Typically, tourists come and go quick enough to never take part in the culture, but once you are in a location for a while, you really need to embrace and learn.

It sounds like you’ve mastered the art of traveling not in the way of a tourist but by connecting with the locals on a deeper level. What are the advantages of pursuing this lifestyle?

Not having a stressful life is one of the most important advantages. Sure, there are times that are stressful in small amounts, but there is no unnecessary daily grind. We often wake up, workout, and get some writing done for our blog UprootingOurLives.com. Around mid-day, we break for some fruit and lunch before jumping in the pool to cool down. What I’m getting at is that we have a great work/life balance.

What are some goals you’ve accomplished?

Starting our own company was a huge goal for us. Working remotely for a company is good, but being your own boss is better! We started an ethical clothing company based in Bali called Tantamount Apparel. We sell our custom designed clothing online. With every sale, we donate 1 pound of fresh and organic fruit and vegetables to help people experiencing homelessness or in need. It is a perfect outlet for my creativity, passion, and lifestyle.

What were some of the biggest takeaways of living the nomadic life?

Depending on where we are situated, there have been times where we have gone a very long time without seeing familiar products in the grocery store, watched an old favourite TV show, or even watched a good hockey game! These are things you can sometimes take for granted at home and not realize that you rely on them.

Being a digital nomad challenges you, but ultimately proves to yourself that you don’t need those material possessions or familiarities to be happy.

I remember after a long trip we visited family in Canada and I immediately bought three tubs of hummus, I forgot how convenient our grocery stores are. I do however like to only shop at local markets when we are abroad so you really only eat what is seasonal and sometimes just need that quick fix of back home.

The best! Italian hummus.

Where do you think you would be if you had never taken the leap to becoming a digital nomad?

I think I would be working for an NGO or a non-for-profit organization. I am a passionate human and animal rights activist, so I would think my life was moving in that direction regardless of where in the world I was! I also would have loved to live in a house with enough land to grow lots of food on!

What advice would you give to other young people aspiring to be a digital nomad?

If you are unhappy with your current situation, know that there is more out there for you. If you are feeling suffocated in a life and job that just are not for you, and you love the idea of becoming a digital nomad, but think you could never do it, know that you can. It takes a bit of planning (and a lot of risk), but it is worth it 100%. When you are looking back from wherever paradise you are in, you will wish you started your journey sooner.

______

If you like this post please hit ❤ so that others can enjoy it too!

______

Visit us online for more stories, #LiveTheAdventure!

www.flyingyak.com

--

--