How becoming a remote worker turned my life around

Two key questions and a trip around Europe taught me that there are many different ways to enjoy my life and my job

Antongiulio
Flylancer
5 min readMar 30, 2017

--

Flylancer Anton setting off for his adventure to combine work and travel

Does real life only begin where your comfort zone ends?

Until I quit my job a year ago, I spent 3 years working for an insurance company as a sales agent. I worked all summer, every day, certain that the more I worked in the present, the less I would have to work in the future. Although it was a freelance job, at times I worked more than an employee, in meetings, training sessions or working in the office 8am-8pm.

At the same time, I was studying Banking and Insurance Economics at the University of Milan, surrounded by people whose life plan was clear: finish their degree, complete a master’s course, find a job, wait for 40 years or longer to get a good pension and then enjoy the rest of their life.

Having worked in insurance and pension plans, I already knew that I wouldn’t receive a pension as a freelancer. So I started to think about how I could stop waiting for my pension and start creating my own pension.

An idea is born

It was 2015, the remote work was becoming more and more popular. I began to think, with a laptop, I could work anywhere and could live the life I’d always wished for: next to the sea, moving to different cities, following the summer and meeting people and experiencing new cultures.

Flylancer Anton visiting Budapest as part of his launch into the digital nomad lifestyle

I decided to move to Milan, initially working in a press office and then for a real estate startup. I liked my new job, but I got to the point where I was working too much and didn’t have any time for a social life, let alone to spend the money I was earning.

I was yearning to go on a trip around the world, but still had my bachelor’s degree to finish. It felt like I would never escape the humdrum life of the traditional employee.

Am I happy?

One sunny day in August, I sat down and asked myself two questions: am I happy? (You can guess the answer to this one!) The second question, although slightly morbid, was: what would I do if I found out that I was going to die in six months? The ‘unexpected’ answer revealed itself to be: travel, meet new people and learn about different ways of life around the world.

After talking about it with my friends, two people encouraged me to think that working and travelling together could be possible… if I really wanted to do it.

It was then that I decided to take a break from my stressful routine in Milan and go on a trip around Europe, to spend time in Germany, Poland, Hungary, Slovakia, Austria, Croatia, Slovenia.

I bought a flight to leave for Berlin one month later, on the 25th October.

The thought of travelling was scary, but exciting — I had no idea what to expect. I was so nervous that I delayed organising anything, not even booking my accommodation in Berlin until the morning I left. All I had was an outbound flight to Germany… and my only plan? To plot out my route on the go, with just my laptop and smartphone to accompany me.

Turning point

Yet this trip was a turning point for me, and I met so many inspirational, enthusiastic and open minded people.

One couple I stayed with in Berlin were earning their income from doing things they loved, and for three days we talked about personal development. They explained to me the importance of cultivating what you feel passionately about and taking advantage of the internet.

The husband left me speechless when he simply stated, “Just start it, and then work on improving it. But the important thing is to start today!”

“Just start it, and then work on improving it. But the important thing is to start today!”

Determined for a new challenge and to improve my English, I went to London where I stayed for a month, working in a restaurant and volunteering 3 hours a day in a hostel for free accommodation in Notting Hill.

I also spent 3 hours per day teaching myself about digital marketing, blogging and content, and started writing short articles on my experiences to practice what I was learning.

Making new friends and trying the local cuisine in Bratislava

That was the first Christmas I spent abroad without my family. When I got back to Italy at the end of January energised and positive I realised that maybe what my school, colleagues and neighbours had tried to teach us wasn’t suited to me, and didn’t make me happy.

Many people don’t realise that there are many different ways of working, ways to develop your own passions and earn a good salary — doing what you love.

A community of remote workers

As soon as I got back to Italy, I began to look online for communities of digital nomads, digital workers and travellers to meet like-minded people, which is how I found Flylancer.

The community here in Milan has opened up so many doors for me: I’ve built on my networking skills, helping me to build my remote career and encourage and inspire other people who are thinking about making the change from office to digital nomad.

Meeting old friends in Zagreb

So how do I think you can forge a more fulfilling career for yourself? Ask yourself the right questions and push yourself outside your comfort zone. What do I want to achieve?…Who do I want to be?… What do I want to do?… How can I push myself?… Maybe doing the things that I’ve always been afraid of doing.

There’s no age limit to this process. You can start living the life you dream about now. .What are you waiting for? Just start!

— — —

Anton is a member of the Flylancer community in Milan. Flylancer is a global community for location independent professionals to meet, share and have fun together. Find out more info here.

--

--