The Importance of Emergency Medical Technicians

Josh Blackburn
FoCo Now
Published in
3 min readOct 12, 2021

Caleb Sugg is a student at Front Range Community College in Fort Collins. Currently he is studying to become an Emergency Medical Technician(EMT). I met up with Caleb in person to conduct the interview about his personal experience with wanting to become an EMT. It takes a special kind of person to do the work of an EMT, and I was curious to know more about Caleb’s decision to become an EMT.

What made you decide that you wanted to study to become an EMT?

I’ve always been the kind of person that wants to help people and I think I was kind of raised that way. My dad is a firefighter and I guess I just adopted those values that he has. That line of work definitely isn’t for everyone, but I’m confident I have what it takes to do the job.

What type of courses are required to become an EMT?

I have to take EMS 121–124, which focuses on different topics. EMS 121 is the basic introduction class and focuses a lot on the well-being of the EMT, communication and patient assessment. EMS 122 focuses on medical history and physical exams when dealing with a patient. EMS 123 focuses on care and transportation of a patient who has suffered a traumatic injury. Finally, EMS 124 takes everything from previous courses and adds focus to patients found in special situations.

What is the most important thing you’ve learned during your time studying to become an EMT?

“The most important thing I’ve learned is stress management. Obviously EMT’s are put in stressful situations everyday, and I have learned that keeping calm and communicating with people is very important.” There are many different ways to deal with stress as well. Some of these include, establishing limits, taking time away, and learning how to relax in high stress situations.

What can you expect to see while working as an EMT?

“I will expect to see a lot of trauma during medical calls. I’ll be seeing people on their worst days and it’s going to be my responsibility to get them through that. ” In an article found on Emergency Services Health, it says “Paramedics face higher levels of depression, anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and fatigue.”

What makes you confident in your ability to be a good EMT?

Like I said, I am a caring person and just want to help people. Honestly, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do as a career for a long time and my dad encouraged me to do this and I am glad it worked out that way.

It’s no secret that EMT’s have a difficult job and I was able to learn a lot from Caleb about the type of work they do, as well as the type of person it takes to be a good EMT. Caleb has a lot of qualities that help make a good EMT, like compassion, trustworthiness, a good attitude, and a strong work ethic. Overall, EMT’s are very important to the health of the population and it was nice to get to know more about Caleb as he strives to become an EMT in Fort Collins.

--

--