The Perfect Mother

Foghorn Review
Foghorn Review
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2018

I chose this book for my May pick for Book of the Month, and I am so glad I did. It arrived a few days before Mother’s Day, so I put my other books on hold so I could read it by the holiday.

Summary:

The Perfect Mother by Aimee Molloy is about a group of new mothers, called the May Mothers, who all gave birth in the same month. They meet in the neighborhood park a couple times each week and chat about their babies and birth stories.

A few months in, the group agrees to leave the babies at home to enjoy a ladies night out. Of course, things go awry and a baby goes missing.

The book follows the group of mothers, taking us into their lives as we try to solve the mystery of who took baby Midas.

“A gripping page-turner that explores the pressures of modern motherhood, as well as a mother’s absolute worst nightmare. I could not be prouder to be bringing this thriller to the big screen.” — Kerry Washington

My Review:

The Perfect Mother touches on the issues all new moms encounter, like not being able to produce milk or the pressure to get back to work.

I was a little worried that I wouldn’t enjoy this book since I’m not a mother, but I was pleasantly surprised. Finding out that Kerry Washington will be in the movie adaptation was a key selling point for me.

This is definitely a fast-paced, exciting read. I loved the writing, too. Molloy’s style keeps the reader on the edge of their seat, guessing “who could it be?”

If you’re looking for a book to take on your next vacation, or something similar to Big Little Lies or Behind Her Eyes, I would highly recommend The Perfect Mother.

Is this your first time on Foghorn Review? We review books a little differently than your typical 5-star rating scale.

How We Review

--

--