It’s only words

Shubhodoy
Folded Pages
Published in
2 min readNov 25, 2020
Photo by Nate Smith on Unsplash

The fiercest rebels amongst us,
are the words which are hung up
on our accumulated active vocabulary,
Like the way you emphasized on
that common word used to describe
affection, yet caressed the ends to
make it sound like yours,
That favourite dish of yours, available
in swanky asian restaurants, adorned with
the choicest of adjectives,
Or that ice cream flavour I called over-rated
on our first anniversary,
It remains my flavour to be suggested if
somebody else asks me of my choice,
You see, how you still exist within me,
The adjusted euphemisms about work life,
The celebrated nuances of your relationships
once dead, yet alive because of their
twitter handles,
How did you give me so much to keep
for an invalidated amount of dejection,
Where is the fairness of love
when I need to sleep without conjuring
up a million ways you would
breakdown the phonetics in my name,
Why do I need to carry the burden of
the sound of a conversation in a message
you wouldnt have typed?
Is there any way to erase certain words,
not just out of my life,
Out of the dictionary itself,
Supplant it with something totally new,
I dont want to carry around assassins
loaded with their kalashnikovs,
ready to cull the existence of my
undoing of loving you,
Love is nothing but an unending
spate of remnants of separation.

--

--