Just a phase

Shubhodoy
Folded Pages
Published in
2 min readOct 11, 2020
Photo by Ella Jardim on Unsplash

I am going through a phase where the cost

Of my dreams is increasingly exponentially,

Yes, I get the jabber, it was never going to be easy,

And I am not complaining,

I wonder how did I get here,

A scanty studio apartment with the best books,

A meagre kitchen, artisanal yogurt brands,

Boutique drapes, exclusive cosmetic for skin,

Pedestrian mattress, chic gin brand,

A mismatch of the worst kind

Is the lifestyle upheaval with better disposable income,

Concomitant with the onerous burden of goals that the wings of

Independence are barely able to carry.

It wasn’t supposed to be like this,

The excels told me otherwise,

Bit by bit, penny by penny, every month in order,

Yet the odd rummage through the unknown flesh

At 4 am on a hectic Wednesday night,

Along with the reckless single malt downing,

Yeah, that wasn’t necessary

How do I tell the machine that I don’t fuck up on purpose?

I live on pittance, I save like a beggar,

I invest, I eat healthy,

But it doesn’t get any easier,

Like a slew of problems are sleeping arraigned,

Coming to haunt me at the drop of a hat

On my good days, relentless,

Like the title winning Klopp press.

Flying is the only option available in my head,

Everyone can go home, Ill keep my practice going,

I am the warhorse,

Quotes like these from motivational gurus keep me pumped.

They also push me towards a deeper narrative of why,

Is it really necessary, do I really want it?

The answer to all the doubts

With resounding joy or askance,

Is always a yes,

Maybe this a phase,

Or not.

--

--