Love but hitherto

Shubhodoy
Folded Pages
Published in
2 min readDec 22, 2020
Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash

You stand aside, staring into the abyss,
You say you loved that actor earlier,
Now you dont, because he has lost his charm,
His films dont warm your heart anymore,
I wonder if I would meet a similar fate
at the viciously beautiful hands of your heart ,
What will happen when you know
of my billion frailties,
My daily struggle to love myself,
a little bit more everyday,
How will you react to situations, when I try
to push you away,
while tearing myself within the core,
Crying out for you to hold me tighter,
just one more millisecond,
Bawling like the widowed wife in
3 month old marriage of a martyred soldier,
How reassurances will not make sense
to me,
Since I wont see the visibly usual care in
seemingly apparent situations,
That nightingales will stop humming,
Fireflies will cease to gleam,
I worry you will not rest your head
a little firmer over my chest,
That you will find the act of tapping
on my turtleneck and say its racing
too fast, pedestrian,
I fear the nights when you will not
call me at 4 am after that pub hop
with your dearest friend,
I try to plot how and when you could
lose this unassuming boundless
love for me,
How your own words of forever will
betray your emotions,
I stargaze into the shooting star,
as you rest a part of your head over my
weak shoulders,
those which have red marks from lovers
who cant remember me, and some
who cant seem to forget me,
A slighted gaze into my eyes,
I lose my reasoning of forfeiting
the charm you havent expected,
I realize our forevers are now,
For now, here, this moment,
I am your forever,
Trespassing the shut gates
in your heart’s lovers lane,
Quietly being the effervescent
wisp of smoke, you released into the oblivion.

--

--