Mirror Self

Shubhodoy
Folded Pages
Published in
1 min readSep 15, 2020

I look at you today & ponder over this

Inestimable truth that you once uttered,

Are we just mirrors of each other?

If not why are we even together?

Are we broken mirrors,

Could you see the crevices in my skin

Which develop deep into my life,

They have a backdrop, they have skin tones,

Pastures with downtrodden memories,

Screens with montages of them before you,

Playing on an endless loop

While I make love to you,

Could you envisage the misery within me,

It will kill us, did you know that?

Do you have a way with sympathy,

Otherwise why would you have said

Yes to a lost cause of embittered

Mnemonics ruptured in the beginning,

Cracked in the middle,

Salvaged in the end by your great acts

Of humanity,

Its not humanity though, you killed me,

In your play, in your life,

Why do I love you,

Still, so much, without the necessity

Of keeping baggage alive,

Doodled bookmarks,

Painted glass bottles,

Coloured fingernails,

Botched up evening dates;

It’s the best kept edits in my head,

Back to forth, end to dawn,

Shiniest mirror drawn from the shards,

Its Us, vanquished by victory.

--

--