Pain-less

Shubhodoy
Folded Pages
Published in
1 min readMar 10, 2020
Photo by Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash

Pain doesn’t have a language,

It makes you silent, even takes the signs away,

I tried to brush it off, like it’s a part of life,

Unintending, you were my life,

The switch that turned off the ventilator,

I am still searching for it.

I kept flinching at all the places,

All the ones where I found you,

Soon I understood, Id have to turn a blind eye,

You were within me, I saw through you,

Parts of what you said, screamed,

I’m imbibing them, I’ll learn, I promise.

Coloured vision, bleeding heart,

Fake smile & a façade over the cufflinks,

Two tattoos, one anxious mind,

Umpteen memories, bland mornings,

Blue evenings, empty small talks,

Hopeless glaring into horizons.

Love doesn’t cause suffering,

Longing for warmth does,

In the calls we didn’t pick up,

For the texts we unsaw,

The chats we deleted,

The photographs we cried on.

--

--