The Forever Night

Shubhodoy
Folded Pages
Published in
Nov 3, 2020
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

Under blinding lights of the dark night,
As the crescent moon lit up the room,
Cutting through the edge of your bed,
Peering towards the closet of invaluables,
I remember how your fingers clenched
my wrist, hard enough to melt,
Into that wind of love blowing through
your wisps, like paradise perfumed
all across the Gibraltar,
Nascent, callous, scurrying and petulant,
You said your love isnt forever,
That it cant be for a man who committs
often, loves too often, goes through heartbreak
yet despises the hatred for love,
Unhurried & scant like potion gifted to me
by Cupid,
As you serenaded me into the everlasting mirth of lust and unfinished love,
Little did I know, complete truths hurt more than half lies,
There is no inch of hope left here,
Its a poor mess of mnemonics from that night that I carry scattered to other women,
Looking at the mirage of eons in dilapidated hearts and remorseful cornices,
I wonder what you made of our forever, or what is it even a blip in your life?

--

--