Then & Now

Abby Pollpeter
Follow Your Heart
1 min readJul 9, 2020

--

Then started out innocently enough.

High school love-

too young to call his bluff.

College came,

And Then went.

Our relationship soon became a game.

Then became distant

Hardly around

So unkind and so inconsistent

He spent more time building his biceps

Than our relationship

I begged for affection

Oh, silly me

Didn’t you know nothing hurts more than rejection?

Then shaped me into an

Unrecognizable shape of a person

Looked like me,

Sounded like him

But eventually he left, and

then, I was alone

But Now

Made me realize

That I can be loved as me

By him

Not an anniversary goes by

Or a tear unnoticed

That Now doesn’t remind me

How much he cares about me

Now is the man

That my children will look to

When their pants get yucky

Now is the man

That others will say,

“How did she get so lucky?”

I am happy now.

--

--