Why I Don’t Like Being Called An ABG

Asian baby girl? No, thank you.

Karin Cho
Follow Your Heart

--

According to Urban Dictionary, an ABG is defined as, “An acronym for an “aznbbygirl” meaning an Asian female gangster. ABG’s like to hang with gangsters and wear thin (slutty) clothing. They like to jump other girls who talk shit and make out with their boyfriends 24/7.”

The spirit of an ABG is like the asian version of the Jersey Shore where drugs, parties, makeup and clout are the only things that matter. It’s a lifestyle jam-packed with drama, violence and toxicity that leave little room for individuality.

Rewind to 2017, I was the textbook definition of an ABG: intimidating reputation, long eyelashes, drama, and fighting the next girl who gave me a dirty look. There were never conversations about anything profound with friends, just shallow ratings and suggestions on where we’d be drinking next and gossiping about anyone and everyone.

It was an exciting lifestyle when it came to my social status but I slowly realized that the people I surrounded myself with were destroying their lives with criminal activity and drugs. Whether it was court dates, community service or mandatory therapy, they were always in some kind of trouble. I now live my life separate from my old friends who I had once believed were the coolest people, choosing instead to live my life with a passion to write & to spread positivity.

I once was the girl who was known for her hoodlum attitude, and I have since come a long…

--

--

Karin Cho
Follow Your Heart

Author of “Moonlight Confessions” now available on Amazon! Email: writerkarincho@gmail.com • IG: @seoulstrawberry