Poetry

Ah Paris revisited

Written during a visit to the City of Light

--

Photo by Anthony Tan on Unsplash

Ah Paris
City of angels and tramps
…long legs, fashion models
and short fat women
A place for sexual deviants, hopeless romantics
A present full of surprises
without a ribbon

Ah Paris
City of broken dreams
… of memories, hopes
and suicides
… of languages you never heard before
and which may never have existed
and many other thrill rides

Ah Paris
City of senses and senselessness
… of desperation and pure lust
and of poor and rich
Where women eventually turn into drunks,
whores or both
men fall prey to them
and end up sleeping underneath a bridge

If I stay here too long
I might give it a try
and never return home

Taken from my poetry book “Groundhog Day revisited”

--

--

Iban Van der Zeyp
Follower Booster Hub

I was born in the year of the first moon landing. I'm a visual artist, writer and photographer. That's it.