Beyond First Impressions: The Wisdom of Inner Beauty

A Cornucopia of Life’s Lessons on Perception, Sincerity, and the True Measure of Worth

Wayne Shi
Follower Booster Hub
5 min readMay 17, 2024

--

It looks ugly, but it’s delicious. UGLY ORANGE 2lb | Yami (yamibuy.com)

This evening, a simple dish of corn on my dining table taught me a profound lesson in perception and inner beauty.

I felt compelled to share this story with my friends, as it’s a reminder that true worth often lies beneath the surface.

Just as I arrived home from work, my wife opened the door as if by telepathy, and we shared a knowing smile. The aroma of a meal wafted from the dining table, tantalizing my taste buds.

Ah, it’s time to eat.

At that moment, I noticed a plate of cooked corn on the table, which reminded me of the corn I had bought online last week.

Their appearance wasn’t very appealing, and with a long shelf life, I suspected the producers might have added preservatives.

The corn even seemed a bit deformed, which made me lose my appetite.

So, for the next few days, I didn’t pay any more attention to them.

However, today, there they were on the dining table.

Curiously, I asked my wife, “Is this the corn I bought online the other day?”

She replied, “Yes, I saw you had left it for several days, so I thought I’d try it today.”

Hesitant, I picked up one of the cobs, smelled it, and found no strange odor, only a pleasant fragrance.

I took a bite, and wow, it was incredibly delicious!

To my surprise, the unassuming corn was sweet and sticky, a delight to eat, far beyond my expectations.

This is the expression on my face when I ate corn, haha Photo by Stockcake

This simple meal reminded me that some things may not be perfect on the outside, but they can be perfect on the inside, and it is the inner beauty that is the most precious.

In life, we often meet people who may not be outwardly beautiful but have rich inner lives.

They are confident, and their family lives are just as happy.

Many famous historical figures focused more on cultivating their inner selves. Their deeds are widely celebrated and admired by posterity.

In fact, there are also counterexamples in life.

I still remember the time my wife bought a few radishes from the market to make soup.

They looked fresh and plump on the outside. But when my wife was about to cook them, she cut one open to find the inside was black and rotten. We had to throw them away.

Photo by Stockcake

This story tells us not to be deceived by appearances and to avoid making incorrect judgments.

People often make quick judgments based on first impressions or initial information, which can anchor their thoughts and harden their perspectives.

The anchoring effect is a psychological phenomenon that is prevalent in all aspects of our lives.

In interpersonal relationships, sincerity is the most important thing.

When people come into your life with sincerity, bringing joy, warmth, and touching moments,

We should cherish such friends.

However, there are others who are good at disguising themselves. They may seem friendly on the surface, but they have ulterior motives, approaching you to exploit your kindness for their gain.

We must stay away from such people.

This reminds me of a classic movie, “The Hunchback of Notre Dame,” which teaches us that beauty seen by the eye is not necessarily true beauty.

A person with a beautiful exterior but a rotten mind inside is merely an empty shell. Conversely, a gentle soul and a kind heart may be hidden beneath an unattractive appearance.

Photo by Stockcake

When choosing a life partner, it’s the same.

The first glance only reveals physical beauty or ugliness, which is not the most important thing.

What truly matters is whether the person has a charming personality, is kind, has a sense of justice, and is willing to do things for you with their heart.

A relationship that aligns in interests and values is more likely to be stable and lasting.

The goodness or badness of a person, the success or failure of a matter, cannot be judged solely by external appearances.

We must look with our hearts, experience with our hearts, and see the essence through the phenomena.

May each of us have the eyes to discern right from wrong and the ability to distinguish truth from falsehood.

Only then can we move in the right direction, make the correct decisions, and firmly grasp happiness and joy in our own hands.

I have also seen unhealthy romantic relationships:

Dear friends,

Have you had experiences that challenge your perception of beauty and value?

I invite you to share your stories here.

Thanks for reading!

I hope you liked my story, give me feedback. You can check my other content as well!

Follower Booster Hub Publication — Your Secret to Medium Success

  • Join the Great Medium Community of “Authentic Engagement” & “Constructive Feedback” with this link.
  • Join our “Slack” group to promote your Medium stories and engage with other writers!

Enjoy

--

--

Wayne Shi
Follower Booster Hub

[⭐️Editor of Follower Booster Hub⭐️] tech guy as a senior cloud systems engineer. I also enjoy sharing what I have learned and experienced with others.