Medical procedures | health

Taboo subject: prostate exams

Why your fear for this procedure is unfounded

Iban Van der Zeyp
Follower Booster Hub
3 min readJun 5, 2024

--

This morning I went to the doctor to have my blood checked, specifically the PSA level (Prostate-Specific Antigen), which is an indicator for prostate health and the possibility of cancer. This time of year is the most important one for me because in about two weeks I have to see the urologist for my annual check-up. Since this has been going on for several years now, I am used to it, but looking back at the first time, it got me thinking of the general perception of prostate exams. For some reason the subject makes people feel uncomfortable. It’s sometimes being used in sitcoms and movies as a humorous element because it tends to create an awkward conversation and/or situation. I think the taboo mainly comes from how the examination is done and some misconceptions that go along with it.

Photo by Sasun Bughdaryan on Unsplash

My prostate history

Six years ago I noticed having difficulties peeing. I no longer had the confident, high-volume stream I was used to and the more urgently I had to go, the weaker the flow. When I went to a bar and I had to go pee, I often noticed how people (younger men) came in, did their business and left, all while I was standing there, unsure when I would be empty and ready to go. So I went to…

--

--

Iban Van der Zeyp
Follower Booster Hub

I was born in the year of the first moon landing. I'm a visual artist, writer and photographer. That's it.