Our happy places

Deepa Shah
Folly Systems
Published in
4 min readDec 2, 2021

It might be stormy now, but it can’t rain forever.

Back in the summer of 2021, we were all holed up in our homes and going through the second wave of Covid. We talked about what kept us going. We went ahead and brightened up our Zoom backgrounds with our happy places, our happy stories.

This is one cheerful memory I have from the tough times.

This is my happy place. This background is from a place called Prabhalgad and I took this picture just when we were starting our trek. I went here with my friends after the lockdown ended last year and this place was all green 🌳+ sunshine ☀️+ rain 🌧️ . While coming back from there I went to a wada paav place and had one of the best wada paav I have ever had 😋. I really wish to go back here, trek and have that wada paav again. 😆
- Nehal

This is from the time me and my brother got lost trekking somewhere remote in Himalayas. It was a short trek but with rain and no experience, we were about to give up. We eventually reached the village camp right before sunset, had hot Maggi and chai to warm us up and this is the view we got next morning.
Absolutely worth it! This is my happy place. ☺️
- Harshit

My happy place is this beautiful background scenery in Kerala. This was my first travel destination. It was here that I first experienced the beauty, freshness and awe nature has to offer. This place changed my perspective of travel completely.
- Aaftab

My favourite place is the hills in Uttarakhand. I love cold weather, fresh air & silence. I enjoyed every bit of time I spent here.
- Rohit

College for all is obviously a happy place, but this particular road holds a special place for me. It was the path I took when going back to my hostel after the lectures. A lot of introspection and conversations with friends and even meeting new people happened here. It is beautiful with all the trees, especially during monsoon.
- Anshuman

Over the years, I have grown fond of the mountains ⛰. Chilly weather, hikes on the rugged terrain, good food, no internet, and most of all, the quality time with my family. This place is in the mountains of Binsar forest in Uttarakhand. On a morning hike, we went deep in the forest, the popular Rhododendron flowers were in full bloom, and with the morning sun, these trees look fiery red. This moment it etched in my memory.
- Deepa

Of all the places that make me happy, this one makes me the happiest! It was the backdrop of some of my favourite memories at NID — from playing frisbee in the rains, winter afternoon naps, theatre club meetings or just sitting there watching hundreds of starlings cover the sky in the evenings to graduation.
- Rucha

My happy place is snow covered mountains in Nepal. When I was 3 years old, we went on a vacation to Nepal and during travels I was crying a lot. But once we reached the valley, the scenic beauty took my breath away and made me stop crying immediately😆. I don’t have any photos from back then but still have that image imprinted in my mind and remembering it still brings a smile to my face. 😄
- Harvinder

Surrounded by infinite slopes of bright green tea plantations and set against a backdrop of jagged white Himalayan peaks, Darjeeling, is the place that means “Abode of God”. Our trip to Darjeeling was all about misty mornings in verandas with lush green views, and of course, a cup of crisp Darjeeling tea. We got up early and gazed open-mouthed at the spectacular Kanchenjunga, the world’s third-highest mountain. At dawn, its snowy peaks appear even more mystical in the sunrise’s orange glow.
This picture of the city reminds me of countless memories & I wish to revisit the place to relive them.
- Aditya

This is from a beach in Goa. I had a long day and was feeling a little burnt out! Coming here instantly calmed me down. Waves crashing along the shores, sand between my toes & sitting under the shade reading one of my favourite book! Its something that can make me unwind and relax at anytime. 🌊
- Jahnavi

My favorite place is my college. I met so many people here and had really good memories. I enjoyed this time of my life the most.
- Shantanu

Some of the most fun hours of my week are spent in this badminton court. Getting together with my friends, chatting and playing makes time fly. It is a great way to socialize as well. It acts as a getaway for me, making me forget about all the other things in the meantime and concentrate on the present activity.
- Sarthak

I have always loved the mountains, and Binsar has lately become this go-to place for me to unwind and refresh. Long hikes across the oak and rhododendron forest, branches covered with moss and ferns, sightings of woodpeckers knocking on wood, calls of barbets in the distance. This is my happy place.
- Nishith

What is your happy place? What place puts a smile on your face?

--

--

Deepa Shah
Folly Systems

Founder, Folly Systems. Living a dream, veteran entrepreneur, avid traveller, mother of two and married to an awesome guy!