Meet Jacques Van der Merwe

Lizelle Geldenhuys
Fonk Cape Town
Published in
2 min readSep 28, 2018

In the People of Fonk you will get an insight about the the people behind our work. We welcome any bright minds into our brave and playful family. This week we have the Jackal, Jacques, is in the spotlight.

Hey, Jacques.

What’s your role at Fonk?

I am an iOS developer.

What’s your favourite thing about being a Fonk employee?

Definitely the rad peeps I get to work with. And my fish friends. Actually the lasagne, but let’s keep that between you and me 😉

I also enjoy working on fun projects, with various reaches outside the domain of iOS development, be it backend, low-level programming and various others.

What’s your favourite spot in or around Cape Town?

When I’m working — Seattle Coffee Company in Constantia Village
I’m currently enjoying what the West Coast has to offer, but also really love Constantia and the surrounding wine areas.

What are you absolutely determined to do?

I’m busy creating some tech for visual effects and movies and would really like to see it utilised in future movie productions.

If you could advise your 10-year younger self, what would it be?

First, before I hand down some wisdom, I’d start by slapping the little shit. You really should have taken her number tsk tsk tsk…
Start reading more, even if it’s 20 pages a day. And go out more, like a lot more.

With a digital focus, which real world problem would you like to solve with an app?

I would like to solve any area in the medical field. I haven’t decided exactly what I would like to tackle, but there are a lot of opportunities to bring change, especially in the digital age.

What’s something you like to do the old-fashioned way?

(No apps, phones, tablets, laptops, etc.)
Playing traditional games with friends.

In your spare time, what do you usually enjoy doing?

I’m currently working on two big personal projects(TBA). I also enjoy creating digital art when I need to do something creative. When I’m not working on them I like going out and making new friends whilst enjoying the sights of bar fights and sipping on cheap tequila.

--

--