Credit: Marvin Meyer

What to Wear When You Work in Tech

And what it says about you

Joanna Ngai
Published in
1 min readSep 1, 2017

--

Company gear = I am easily susceptible to swag + free food events.
Role: Non-specific

Same outfit everyday = I am unwilling to waste my time or brainpower for minute life quibbles like choosing an outfit.
Role: CEO, VP, executive

Suit = I am interacting directly with customers today and need to give a professional impression.
Role: Business, sales, marketing, PM

Hoodie = I am comfortable as possible at all times and will power nap through my lunch break.
Role: Engineer

Plaid = I am either young or enjoy critiquing patterns and colors.
Role: Designer, intern

Gym gear = I am over scheduled, sweaty and forgot my change of clothes at home…
Role: Non-specific

Thanks for reading! Feel free to check out my design work or new UX handbook, available on Amazon.

--

--