Why is Turmeric Considered ‘Gold’?

The people of India say that turmeric is gold. Not only is it a flavorful spice for cooking but it has great medicinal value too.

Treathyl Fox aka cmoneyspinner
My Foodie LUV

--

“Turmeric and honey are the perfect combination for good health in literally every sense.” SOURCE: Turmeric and honey, the perfect combination for health.

When it comes to turmeric, that article writer is preaching to the choir. I do not need to be convinced. I discovered this spice late in life when my late husband developed a serious heart condition. I do have regrets that we did not find out about it sooner. No wonder the people of India call this spice “gold”!

It’s not just its pretty color. Indians learned a long time ago that turmeric can be used for cooking and for medicinal purposes. Of course, they say this about a lot of spices but if I were making a list of the best medicinal spices on planet earth, turmeric would be at the top of my list, with or without honey. Although, if you are using it in a tea drink or a smoothie, you probably should add honey. It’s kind of bitter.

WARNING: As always, if you are taking something for health reasons, you should consult a physician or a qualified medical practitioner.

--

--

Treathyl Fox aka cmoneyspinner
My Foodie LUV

Hi! Thanks for visiting. Please come back often. ** Freelance blogger/article writer since 2007. Crypto enthusiast & K-drama lover! What about you?