“I know my rights thanks to this project”: Arujan on Girl-talk-Girl Kazakhstan

Footage:project
Footage:project
Published in
2 min readMar 29, 2020

Arujan, a brave and powerful young woman who participated in Girl-talk-Girl in Kazakhstan, shares her thoughts on the storytelling program with the Footage team and other participants worldwide.

I am 19 years old now. I could not let this go although this story happened four years ago. Today was the end of the Girl-talk-Girl Kazakhstan project, and we received our certificates. Girl-talk-Girl healed my wound. I let my story go, just like other participants.

I felt like myself for the first time. For the first time, I was heard. I know my rights thanks to this project. I know who I can contact for help now. During Girl-talk-Girl, I felt powerful and protected. Girl-talk-Girl is an invaluable project.

Irrespective of our nationalities, we have similar problems. We have not had a project like this one in Kazakhstan. Thanks to you, the Kazakhstani understood the idea of Girl-talk-Girl and how important it is for people. You taught a great lesson to us! Thanks to you, we feel power.

By sharing my story, I let go of shame and drew major conclusions. I am so grateful to the Girl-talk-Girl whole team. We did not see other participants, but we were able to feel you with us.

Kristen and Antonina managed to create an unforgettable atmosphere and allowed us to build on your past experiences. So much compassion, feelings, emotions and energy — this project is really cool! You do not work for nothing, your labor of love will stay around forever! Please remember that your contribution to this world is precious. We are your seeds, and we are happy to develop this project and put our energy into it like Kristen and Antonina. We love you and will never forget your help. Go, Girl-talk-Girl!

With lots of love,
Arujan, a Kazakh participant

Girl-talk-Girl is a global program by Footage Foundation that uses mobile digital storytelling to connect and empower young women at risk of experiencing gender-based violence. Girl-talk-Girl Kazakhstan took place in Almaty with local partner organization, Rodnik, and with sponsorship and support from the U.S. Diplomatic Mission to Kazakhstan.

--

--

Footage:project
Footage:project

Dynamic NGO using media arts and local technology to amplify the voices of youth as means of igniting positive social change. We raise voices to elevate lives.