Dani Alves: I pretty much agreed to join Liverpool

Terry Crawford
Football First
Published in
3 min readNov 8, 2017

It has emerged that Brazilian right back Dani Alves had an agreement in place to join Liverpool back in 2006.

The then Sevilla defender had all but put pen to paper on a deal that would have seen him playing for the Five time European champions but according to sources Liverpool made the decision to pull the plug on the £9 million move and instead perused Jermaine Pennant and Alvaro Arbeloa. A move which in hindsight could have been considered a mistake.

Alvaro Arbeloa and Rafa Benitez at Liverpool

Although Arbeloa became a first team regular under Rafa Benitez claiming 66 caps and bagging 2 goals during his time at Anfield between 2007–2009. He then left Merseyside to join the Galacticos (Real Madrid) where he went on to make an impressive 153 appearances over a 7 year period. With all this in mind it is still argued that Alves would have been a much better option for the Reds.

Speaking to Four Four Two magazine about the story, Dani had this to say: “I pretty much had an agreement with Liverpool. But for whatever reason it didn’t happen at the last moment and I really don’t know why, as I wasn’t the one conducting the negotiations. I had other people representing me back then. Something similar happened later in my career with Chelsea and Real Madrid. Of course, it all worked out happily for the Cules [Barcelona supporters] in the end, and also for me as I was able to write an amazing story at the Camp Nou instead.”

Having prepared for the move to England and watched it fall through, Dani decided to stay put at the UEFA cup winning Sevilla for the next season before sealing his dream move to Barcelona in 2008.

“I wanted to win things that I unfortunately couldn’t win if I stayed at Sevilla,” he explains. “We came close, but I don’t like to be just close. Six months before the transfer window opened I’d been told of Barça’s interest, and I said I’d like to play for them because of the fine history of Brazilians there, the greatness of the club and the style of football.

“So it was a successful union and I will always be grateful to Pep Guardiola, [director of football] Txiki Begiristain and [president] Joan Laporta, as they gave me the opportunity to become a big star.”

Alves (now 34) had another opportunity to join a premier league outift in the summer of 2017 but opted for a move to PSG after his short spell at Juventus. It was rumoured that Manchester City had offered the Brazilian an opportunity to reunite with old friend and manager Pep Guardiola but the defender opted to join the Ligue 1 contenders.

Pep Guardiola and Dani Alves at Barcelona

According to recent rumours a Premier league move could again be on the cards for Dani with Man City lining up a move.

Alves had this to say: “There were lots of things to consider, and they drove me to PSG,Guardiola was the main reason, above all others, that I was considering going to play for Manchester City. In the end, there was an opportunity to join some very good friends at PSG, in an incredible city and at a club that has great potential. I know I can help to add some positive things to this club that go beyond football. It made more sense for me to pick Paris over Manchester on this occasion, but I don’t hide my admiration for Pep and my will to play in the Premier League in the future.”

--

--