The next generation of Boys in Green

Keith McGuinness
Football Geekery
Published in
Dec 16, 2020

This week’s post is my first attempt at a dashboard. The Republic of Ireland were my first football love, but without much to celebrate with the senior team at the moment, I thought I’d look forward to the next generation. The players below are all under 21s, although a couple have already notched up senior appearances. Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to have a much-needed heir to Robbie Keane among their ranks, but we have an embarrassment of riches in goal plus a couple of other promising outfield players.

A couple of notes about the stats:

I only included players registered at Premier League and Championship clubs (and in the case of Lee O’Connor, the SPL)

Appearances are from the 20/21 season so far in senior league & cup fixtures

Goalkeepers

Defenders

Midfielders

Forwards

--

--