Autumns Shadows

The slant of the sun.

David Rudder
For Awe
1 min readNov 26, 2021

--

Photograph by Author.

Nights stretch out a little longer
There’s a morning chill in the air
The whispers of autumn come walking
The shadows spring out of her lair.

The sizzle of summer has simmered
And simpered her coquettish smile
I’ve walked from one season into another
A traipse along a long country mile.

Autumn shadows gradually lengthen
Cool winds whisper winters song
I lie awake till midnight and meditate
Then dream the whole night long.

I see shadows in different perspectives
And seek the slant of the sun
Sailing across the northern sky
Through tides that used to run.

I set my moods by the seasons
And taste the fresh salt air
I watch leaves melt in molten moments
A love affair of solitaire.

Thoughts fall like raindrops from heaven
Then gather and wash away with the tide
New seasons need no reasons
To wander linger or abide.

Autumn shadows reflect on the river
The endless currents of time
Then wash away when summer is done
To the song of a different rhyme

©

David Rudder
Autumn 2021

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
For Awe

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.