Awe-Inspiring Talent and Skills With Glass and Canvas

Awe Practice: Awe-inspired by humans

K. Barrett
For Awe

--

Photo, K.Barrett, author

Ability-based awe is thought to co-occur with admiration of a person’s “exceptional ability, talent, and skill.” — Greater Good Science Center

Glass

Awe-inspiring things that we see every day can lose a bit of impact on our feelings of awe, unless we take a moment to step back and analyze them again through fresh eyes. This goes for nature, art, music, and other human actions and abilities. This is especially true for the awe-inspiring people that are closest to us.

While recently visiting my parents I had an experience like this. I am used to seeing my mom’s work with glass and canvas. Although it is common to me, her skills and talents are actually outstanding. The lamp above and the lamp and window below are just a few examples of her glasswork. This is just a hobby, a hobby that requires an awesome amount of awe-inspiring skill and talent.

Photo, K.Barrett, author

Canvas

I am also used to seeing my mom take a pile of deteriorating boat seats and transform it with new foam and new canvas to a beautifully restored…

--

--

K. Barrett
For Awe

Awe ambassador. Nature and travel photographer. Also, an educator, mom, wife, daughter, sister, and friend. Sharing the power of awe with the world.