Eagle Eye

From my eyrie on high.

David Rudder
For Awe
2 min readJan 8, 2022

--

Photo by Alfred Kenneally on Unsplash

Needles of light pierce the pre-morning sky
My Eagle eye opens from my eyrie on high
The flush of the dawn paints the soft dappled bay
While I survey my realm and consider my prey.

Below the mottled surface, the silverfish run
Their sleek fast bodies flash in the sun
With my chick to feed and stomach to fill
I size up the position of the first day's kill.

Majestically I launch myself from my nest
And soar in the sea breeze with a rapturous zest
My Eagle eyes narrow as I watch my quarry
Sparkling neath the waves my first-morning glory.

Photo by Richard Lee on Unsplash

I first hover above and my graceful wings shimmer
Whilst the fish is illuminated in a rainbow-like glimmer
Then I fall to the water with breathtaking speed
With my talons extended to clutch up my feed.

Photo by Dorothea OLDANI on Unsplash

With the fish in my claws, my mighty wings beat
To gain height and return to my chick and to eat
Below spread the waters of the jeweled Jervis Bay
My Kingdom I rule in the night and each day.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
For Awe

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.