My Mind’s Eye

Daybreak.

David Rudder
For Awe
2 min readApr 9, 2022

--

Video by Author and thanks to Jan Sebastian.

Is it my imagination?
Or simply just the way I feel
Visions move into my perspective
What will this day reveal?

I wait for the whisper of daybreak
That transforms dreams into reality
I merge from the mists of miasma
Into new normality.

What I see in my mind’s eye
Is a picture hard to paint?
Words like birds have meaning
And flow without restraint.

The tumble of the water
The waves upon the shore
The lost sound of a seagull
I couldn’t ask for more.

Creativity flows like a river
Assisted by the thunder and the rain
It flows through my veins in abundance
And harmonizes in a sweet refrain.

Meanwhile, summer turns to winter
Tides follow the cycles of the moon
Love is transient as a rainbow
Why did winter come so soon?

A teardrop falls from heaven
I watch the day disappear into the night
And wait expectantly for the morning
New meaning wisdom and insight.

It’s not just my imagination
My mind’s eye is the window where I see
Inventiveness awe and inspiration
That liberates my mind and sets me free.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports David Rudder and other writers you read. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you a wonderful platform to publish and earn from your own poetry, photographs, and stories on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
For Awe

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.